The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 02:43am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Foul--->buzzer---->release.

The ball becomes dead when the horn goes. Rule 6-7-6. If a foul occurs, rule 6-7-7 also says that the ball becomes dead, with exceptions. Rule 6-7-6EXCEPTION(a&c) say that the exception keeping the ball live only applies if the ball was in flight before time expired. Therefore the ball is dead on the buzzer, no basket, and the shooter gets 2 FT's for being fouled in the act of shooting.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 02:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Found it!

5.6.2 SITUATION D: Team A trails 60-59 with just a few seconds remaining in the fourth quarter of play. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1 but time expires before the ball is in flight. A1 is awarded two free throws. The coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul before A1's attempts. A1 makes: (a) neither throw; (b) one throw; or (c) both throws. When does Team A shoot the free throws resulting from the technical foul? RULING: In (a) and (b), the two free throws for the technical foul are attempted as part of the fourth quarter as the foul occurred before the fourth quarter had ended. In (a), the two free throws for the technical foul will determine if an extra period is necessary. In (b), the one successful free throw ties the game and if either free throw for the technical foul is successful, no extra period is required. In (c), the two successful free throws dictate there will be no extra period. The free throws for the technical foul are not administered as the outcome of the game has been determined. A quarter or extra period does not end until all free throws which could affect the outcome of the game have been attempted and related activity has been completed. (4-41-1; 5-6-3 Exception; 6-7-7)

Damn, just saw that while I was searching JAR beat me to it. Good work JAR.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 51
Thanks, y'all.
__________________
Visit my blog at illegalscreen.blogspot.com...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 02:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
JAR beat me to it. Good work JAR.
My existence is somehow justified. (finally)
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
Lancelot is the C
Is he still around?

What I don't understand about your scenario is that Lance said "no shot" and Gil called the foul. Then Lance said "act of shooting", but he didn't call the foul; Gil did. Its up to Gil to determine whether the foul was in the act of shooting. If in the act of shooting and the foul was called prior to the horn, you shoot 2 free throws.

The tougher question, in my view, here is that if the shot isn't released prior to the buzzer sounding, can it count if the ball goes in? In other words, are we shooting 2 FT and not counting a shot under that situation?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 08:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie

The tougher question, in my view, here is that if the shot isn't released prior to the buzzer sounding, can it count if the ball goes in? In other words, are we shooting 2 FT and not counting a shot under that situation?
That question has already been answered above. The ball has to be in the air when the buzzer goes to count. Always. The cites to back that up are contained in my last post above.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 02, 2006, 11:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The tougher question, in my view, here is that if the shot isn't released prior to the buzzer sounding, can it count if the ball goes in? In other words, are we shooting 2 FT and not counting a shot under that situation?
Do a search of the forum - this one has come up quite a bit over the years.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 12:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
...
Ah, Dexter! He's back.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Ah, Dexter! He's back.
Yup - big exam tomorrow, combined with the umpire signalling a TD at the end of last night's Rutgers-WVU game made me come back for a look. I try to keep up with the forum every once in a while.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul....After the shot wolfen Basketball 2 Tue Dec 21, 2004 09:32am
Suggested New Rule: The Buzzer Shot rockhoward Basketball 27 Mon Feb 10, 2003 04:40pm
Foul Shot fisherj Basketball 15 Mon Jan 13, 2003 09:51am
Foul after shot JWC Basketball 3 Wed Dec 11, 2002 09:06am
Last second shot & foul Mark Dexter Basketball 32 Tue Jan 08, 2002 05:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1