The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 05:01pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Alright Bkt, Snaq, and Jurassic, I'm pretty much there, I guess.

But by the logic you've all displayed, wouldn't it also be a violation for the thrower to go out of bounds, reach, and tap the still in-bounds ball to him/herself to then pick up and throw in? Or does this fall under: By the strict interp of the rules (as has been laid out here), yes, this is a violation, but we're going to leave it alone now, because it doesn't look as strange, and no one's gaining an advantage, etc.?

(Edited to include)

And also, two of the rule citations listed in this thread are at opposition with one another, if we're saying they both have equal precedence.

4-4-1 (and 4-4-2, for that matter) A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

4-4-4 A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location.

Because, as both myself and someone else have already asserted, the ball cannot be both out of bounds and in the back(or front)court.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Mon Nov 27, 2006 at 05:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 05:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Alright Bkt, Snaq, and Jurassic, I'm pretty much there, I guess.

But by the logic you've all displayed, wouldn't it also be a violation for the thrower to go out of bounds, reach, and tap the still in-bounds ball to him/herself to then pick up and throw in? Or does this fall under: By the strict interp of the rules (as has been laid out here), yes, this is a violation, but we're going to leave it alone now, because it doesn't look as strange, and no one's gaining an advantage, etc.?
I didn't give you logic. I gave you rules. Whether you choose to believe or disbelieve those rules is completely up to you.

What you're talking about above is the method the player is using to get ready to start the throw-in, not what rules are actually used to govern the thrower after the throw-in has started. See rule 4-42-3 and 7-6-1. The throw-in and the throw-in count do not start until the ball is at the disposal of the thrower. In the case above, the throw-in does not start until after the player OOB had possession of the ball OOB- iow after he had tapped the ball to himself.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 05:33pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I didn't give you logic. I gave you rules. Whether you choose to believe or disbelieve those rules is completely up to you.
I can read them in the book, so I believe them. I apologize for my poor choice of word(s).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What you're talking about above is the method the player is using to get ready to start the throw-in, not what rules are actually used to govern the thrower after the throw-in has started. See rule 4-42-3 and 7-6-1. The throw-in and the throw-in count do not start until the ball is at the disposal of the thrower. In the case above, the throw-in does not start until after the player OOB had possession of the ball OOB- iow after he had tapped the ball to himself.
That makes perfect sense. I appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 06:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
What you're talking about above is the method the player is using to get ready to start the throw-in, not what rules are actually used to govern the thrower after the throw-in has started. See rule 4-42-3 and 7-6-1. The throw-in and the throw-in count do not start until the ball is at the disposal of the thrower. In the case above, the throw-in does not start until after the player OOB had possession of the ball OOB- iow after he had tapped the ball to himself.
Not to start an argument you just made me think. If the player went OOB and the ball was sitting inbounds and the player was waiting for his team to get set up before he picked up the ball then I would start my count. Therefore the throw-in has started because the ball is at the disposal of the player even though the ball is still inbounds.

I've also made the argument in the past that you can be holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds and not have player control.

After a made basket B1 gets the ball but doesn't go directly OOB to make the throw-in. He is waiting for his team to get set up and thinks that the count doesn't start until he goes OOB. Little does he know that I've started my count and that he is 3 seconds away from a violation. This player is holding a live ball inbounds. Does this player have player control? If A1 fouls B1 what do we have? If B1 fouls A1 are we shooting bonus free throws?

I just sit around thinking of mundane things like this all day.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 06:58pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
After a made basket B1 gets the ball but doesn't go directly OOB to make the throw-in. He is waiting for his team to get set up and thinks that the count doesn't start until he goes OOB. Little does he know that I've started my count and that he is 3 seconds away from a violation. This player is holding a live ball inbounds. Does this player have player control? If A1 fouls B1 what do we have? If B1 fouls A1 are we shooting bonus free throws?

Live ball, players are inbounds, throw-in has started (ball at disposal).......

common fouls either way....free throws if team is in bonus
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 08:09pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
If the player went OOB and the ball was sitting inbounds and the player was waiting for his team to get set up before he picked up the ball then I would start my count. Therefore the throw-in has started because the ball is at the disposal of the player even though the ball is still inbounds.


1) Yup, the throw-in has started in that situation, but then taking or getting the ball OOB after you've started your count to make a legal throw-in still isn't a throw-in violation under any rule that I'm aware of. If you can think of one, post it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) Yup, the throw-in has started in that situation, but then taking or getting the ball OOB after you've started your count to make a legal throw-in still isn't a throw-in violation under any rule that I'm aware of. If you can think of one, post it.
If the Throw-in has started, while B1 is standing inbounds with the ball...then a foul by A1 would have to be intentional. Right?

Edit: Intentional/Flagrant/or ignored.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA

Last edited by RookieDude; Mon Nov 27, 2006 at 09:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2006, 09:23pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude
If the Throw-in has started, while B1 is standing inbounds with the ball...then a foul by A1 would have to be intentional. Right?
No, only if A1 actually committed an intentional foul on another B player or if he fouled B1 inbounds(I think).

Once the throw-in started, the ball became live. That means 4-19-1NOTE goes out the door. A foul on another B player other than B1 would be a personal foul of some kind, solely dependant on the act, because the ball is live. But.... the rule book is kinda unclear as to whether a foul committed on B1 inbounds before he got OOB should actually be an intentional personal foul. Rule 9-2PENALTY4 only covers the situation where a defender fouls a thrower who is already OOB. I would imagine that you would use the same logic though to call an intentional personal foul if a defender fouled a player that was going OOB with a live ball to make the throw-in.

Good question, Dude.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2006, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
This might qualify as the most confusing thread of all time.

The OP was just asking if after a made basket the thrower can inbound the ball by just tapping the still inbounds ball to his teammate or if he has to take it out of bounds with him and pass it. Somehow palming the ball and backcourt status came into question.

My head is about to explode!
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2006, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
After a made basket B1 gets the ball but doesn't go directly OOB to make the throw-in. He is waiting for his team to get set up and thinks that the count doesn't start until he goes OOB. Little does he know that I've started my count and that he is 3 seconds away from a violation. This player is holding a live ball inbounds. Does this player have player control? If A1 fouls B1 what do we have? If B1 fouls A1 are we shooting bonus free throws?
Okay what if the same thing happens as stated above but instead of fouling, A1 hits the ball out of B1's hands? Is this the same as if B1 was OOB but holding the ball inbounds?

Last edited by All_Heart; Tue Nov 28, 2006 at 11:49am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2006, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
Okay what if the same thing happens as stated above but instead of fouling, A1 hits the ball out of B1's hands? Is the same as if B1 was OOB but holding the ball inbounds?
In that case here is what I would call.

RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:...

ART. 6 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2006, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
In that case here is what I would call.

RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:...

ART. 6 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.
Why wouldn't it be like the situation when the inbounder holds the ball over the boundary line and gets the ball stolen. This is legal, I believe, as long as there is no contact on the inbounder. The only difference is that the inbounder's body is actually inbounds at the time in this situation.

Note that I do not think this is right, but I can see an argument for it being legal.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2006, 04:15pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
In that case here is what I would call.

RULE 10, SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:...

ART. 6 . . . Delay the game by acts such as:
a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play.
In this situation the ball is put in play by a throw-in, and the throw-in has already started. So how can this be the call?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 28, 2006, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Since the nonscoring team is awarded the ball OOB for a throw-in, they must be allowed to gather the ball and take it OOB uncontested.

Ruling anything else would make a farce of 7-4-3.

The scoring team cannot be permitted to steal the ball prior to the opponent obtaining the ball and the position where it is awarded to them by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 29, 2006, 09:40am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart
Okay what if the same thing happens as stated above but instead of fouling, A1 hits the ball out of B1's hands? Is this the same as if B1 was OOB but holding the ball inbounds?
Delay of game warning on Team A for interfering with the ball following a made basket.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules Question LPK Basketball 3 Thu Jun 16, 2005 09:44am
Old rules question TriggerMN Basketball 1 Sun Jan 11, 2004 04:50pm
Old Rules Question Nevadaref Basketball 8 Wed Jul 02, 2003 02:49pm
Rules question #3...please help.... trippingants4134 Basketball 11 Tue Feb 26, 2002 11:56pm
Rules question JoeD1 Basketball 2 Fri Nov 24, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1