The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 15, 2006, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
There is a similar ruling by the NFHS which says that only one T should be assessed. When I read this I thought, "What happened to the T for hanging on the rim?" Needless to say, I'm not fond of this ruling, but it is what it is.

2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 7: Only a few seconds remain in the second quarter. Team A is advancing the ball from backcourt to frontcourt. A1 is driving toward his/her basket and is about to dunk the ball when the horn sounds to end the first half. Shortly after the horn sounds, A1 dunks the ball and hangs on to the rim. RULING: A1 is assessed a technical foul for dunking a dead ball. The foul is also charged indirectly to the head coach. The third quarter begins with Team B being awarded two free throws and the ball at the division line. The alternating-possession arrow is not affected and remains unchanged. (5-6-4; 10-3-4)

Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Nov 15, 2006 at 03:14pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grasping the rim during play zebraman Basketball 12 Thu Jun 24, 2004 08:30pm
grasping the rim Dibbs Basketball 6 Tue Dec 24, 2002 10:02pm
Grasping The Ring APHP Basketball 25 Tue Sep 10, 2002 02:22pm
Grasping the Ring Mike Burns Basketball 3 Wed Jan 23, 2002 10:32pm
Grasping the "Basket" rainmaker Basketball 10 Tue Jan 08, 2002 03:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1