![]() |
|
|
|||
A1 shoots, ball comes off the backboard and rim hard and bounds all the way out to the division line. A2 leaps from his FC, catches the ball while airborne, and lands in the BC. Is this a violation? Damn skippy it is.
Doesn't this seem counter-intuitive though? If A1 lets the ball go into the backcourt, then picks it up, there is no violation at all, but if A1 catches it, and steps on the division line, it's a violation. Is this really the intent of the backcourt rule? |
|
|||
Quote:
A1 ends his dribble and passes the ball. B1 deflects it, A2 leaps from his FC, catches the ball and lands in his BC. Is this a violation? Yes. Would it have been a violation if he had allowed the ball to go into the BC and then retrieved it? No, it would not.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
This is a very basic ruling on the court. Rule 9-9-3 says ... A player from the team not in control: so who has team control during a throw in and during a shot? NO TEAM! Rule 4-12-6.
Therefore by basic logic, any player on the court may jump from their frontcourt and catch a throw-in or a rebound and then land in their backcourt without a violation even if the ball has been deflected! ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I have to ask, though it says THE team not in control, which team is in control? The definitions say that there is no team contol during a throw in, and if there is no Team control, there can be no Player Control, so...
|
|
|||
I think the intent of the rule is when team control is established while the player securing that control is airborn. The rule is allowing for that person to make a normal landing with the ball, regardless of if the jump started from FC or BC.
I will grant that the way the rule is written it can be interpreted to ambiguously. To me, 9-9-3 is clear. The team not in control can jump, secure team control and make a normal landing. Until I see a specific interpretation from the FED or a case play it will not be a violation in the games I ref. That is just the way I see it.
__________________
I only wanna know ... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backcourt violation | discodaddy61 | Basketball | 5 | Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:28am |
Backcourt Violation During Throw-In | imagomer | Basketball | 7 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:51pm |
Backcourt violation or not ? | reed2310 | Basketball | 8 | Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:57pm |
Backcourt violation?? | zac | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 02, 2003 10:47pm |
Throw in spot on Backcourt violation | Art N | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 12, 2000 01:08am |