The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
That's a great question. Even if the arrow is pointing to Team B, they haven't gotten possession yet, have they? The ball is dead, but there is no "possession", is there?
While there is no control, there is possession. It's not explicitly defined in the book but in can be fairly easily inferred. Possession is determined by who actually has the ball or who is due an upcoming throwin/FT through some infraction of the rules (or held ball). The instant the infraction occurs, the next possession is determined...by the penalty part of the rule that was violated or by the state of the arrow.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 01:37pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,686
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The instant the infraction occurs, the next possession is determined...by the penalty part of the rule that was violated or by the state of the arrow.
Good explanation, Camron. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Team control or posession is very strickly defined in the rule book -
and it would have nothing to do with who is getting the ball based on a free throw or inbound pass that is yet to occur.
In this particular case there has been NO change of possession.
1) Foul
2) A inbounded the ball
3) Tie up this is not a change of possession or team Control - team B has never been in control at this point.

So shoot the FT lane empty go with the AP inbound at spot nearest tie up.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Team control or posession is very strickly defined in the rule book -
and it would have nothing to do with who is getting the ball based on a free throw or inbound pass that is yet to occur.
In this particular case there has been NO change of possession.
1) Foul
2) A inbounded the ball
3) Tie up this is not a change of possession or team Control - team B has never been in control at this point.

So shoot the FT lane empty go with the AP inbound at spot nearest tie up.
First, "control" < > "posession". You can have either one without the other. "Control" is defined; "posession" isn't (but it can be inferred).

Second, the case play I cited earlier clearly says that if the arrow is pointing to B, then shoot the FTs with no one on the lane, and give the ball to B, under the AP procedure. If the arrow is pointing to A, shoot the FTs with players on the lane, and resume from there -- the AP isn't involved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to handle this situation alabamabluezebra Football 3 Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:04am
Best way to handle this situation. alabamabluezebra Softball 4 Wed May 19, 2004 12:04pm
How do you handle this situation? alabamabluezebra Softball 7 Fri Jun 06, 2003 02:22pm
Tell me how you handle this situation . . . Gold_Spark Baseball 7 Sat Aug 24, 2002 01:20pm
How would you handle this situation. JRutledge Basketball 33 Mon Jul 29, 2002 10:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1