View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2006, 08:15am
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Nevadaref is absolutely correct. Just to fill in the rest of the story, if this is the second (or third or fourth or...) dead ball after the mistaken throw-in following the foul, then the error is not correctable.

The reason you go back and shoot the 1-1 with lane spaces empty and come back to the team B throw-in is that there has been a change of possession since the error was made. If there had been no change of possession, you would go back and shoot the 1-1, but fill the lane spaces and play on as normal.

Here's a question---if the arrow had been pointing in A's direction instead of B's, would this constitute a change of possession or not?

The phrase "change of possession" in this rule has always bothered me, since it's not a term that's defined in Rule 4. Does someone have a clear definition?
Reply With Quote