The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 01:09am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
9.2.2 SITUATION C: A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net, B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds, both feet remain inbounds. B1 immediately passes the ball up the court to a fast-breaking teammate, who scores a basket. RULING: Cancel Team B's goal, throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1's disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. (7-4-3; 7-5-7)

So, am I reading this correctly that we are allowed to wipe off a basket and go back in time to call a violation?!?

Ok, I'm going back to sleep now. Everyone else can discuss.
Yep, I'm thinking you read it wrong. In this sitch they expect you to make the call right then, not when the coach requests it during a time-out. The violation could be called before the basket, but the red words indicate it all happened real quick.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
I guess the question is: Is there "statute of limitations" on calling a violation.

I had a situation: I'm lead, 2 person. A1 has a throw in from the corner in A's frontcourt. I administer the throw-in. A1 throws the ball, it hits the side of the backboard, and rebounds right to A1. She grabs the ball, puts up a try, and scores. I'm there saying in my mind "something's wrong...something's wrong" Team B inbounds and get a few steps up the court, when it dawns on me: A1 threw it in and was the first to touch the ball. I immediately blew the whistle and wiped the basket. Now, if the play had gotten to mid court, I don't know if I would have felt comfortable wiping the basket at that point. But since we were still in the vicinity of the play, and only a few seconds had elapsed, I felt comfortable.

So, what is the statute of limitations on calling a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 12:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
I guess the question is: Is there "statute of limitations" on calling a violation.

I had a situation: I'm lead, 2 person. A1 has a throw in from the corner in A's frontcourt. I administer the throw-in. A1 throws the ball, it hits the side of the backboard, and rebounds right to A1. She grabs the ball, puts up a try, and scores. I'm there saying in my mind "something's wrong...something's wrong" Team B inbounds and get a few steps up the court, when it dawns on me: A1 threw it in and was the first to touch the ball. I immediately blew the whistle and wiped the basket. Now, if the play had gotten to mid court, I don't know if I would have felt comfortable wiping the basket at that point. But since we were still in the vicinity of the play, and only a few seconds had elapsed, I felt comfortable.

So, what is the statute of limitations on calling a violation?
I don't think there is a limit on a certain amount of time to make a call. The problem in the original post is that a call was made after time-out was called and the coach prompted the officials to do so. Now this is no longer a call to be made, but an error to be corrected.

A missed violation is not a correctable error, according to myself and several others, as vigorously stated on the last 80 or so pages on this thread.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I don't think there is a limit on a certain amount of time to make a call. The problem in the original post is that a call was made after time-out was called and the coach prompted the officials to do so. Now this is no longer a call to be made, but an error to be corrected.

A missed violation is not a correctable error, according to myself and several others, as vigorously stated on the last 80 or so pages on this thread.
So, what is 9.2.2 SITUATION C?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
I have followed this discussion from the beginning. I do not think you can go back and correct a missed violation.

Consider this play. A1 drives and does a jump stop in the Trail's primary area. A1 then pivots, then shoots a jump shot that is good. The Trail lets the play go. The Lead is focus on players in his primary and does not see the play. Coach B calls a time out after the made basket and wants to discuss the "violation." Trail admits a jump stop occurred and then a pivot and says it is legal. Coach B now appeals to you. Trail does not know the rule. You know the rule. Do you wipe out a basket on a play that was never whistled? I don't. I tell the coach we can discuss this play after the game if he wants, but as a crew, we live with it and take the heat.

I am still awaiting the interpretation of Mr. Jenkins.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 01:37pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
I have followed this discussion from the beginning. I do not think you can go back and correct a missed violation.

Consider this play. A1 drives and does a jump stop in the Trail's primary area. A1 then pivots, then shoots a jump shot that is good. The Trail lets the play go. The Lead is focus on players in his primary and does not see the play. Coach B calls a time out after the made basket and wants to discuss the "violation." Trail admits a jump stop occurred and then a pivot and says it is legal. Coach B now appeals to you. Trail does not know the rule. You know the rule. Do you wipe out a basket on a play that was never whistled? I don't. I tell the coach we can discuss this play after the game if he wants, but as a crew, we live with it and take the heat.

I am still awaiting the interpretation of Mr. Jenkins.
Uhmmm...why would a jump stop followed by a pivot be a violation? That move has been around since Earl the Pearl Monroe made it poplular back in the 50's...a jumpstop does not establish a pivot foot, so they can still pivot on one of those feets of theirs without travelling...

I can NOT believe I actually added to the length of this thread!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
I can NOT believe I actually added to the length of this thread!!
Kinda like quicksand, isn't it? Get too close, and it sucks you right in.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 02:15pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad
Uhmmm...why would a jump stop followed by a pivot be a violation?
What most of us refer to as a jump stop is what is described in 4-44-2-a-3 and 4-44-2-b-2.

In both of these cases, neither foot can be a pivot.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 02:19pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
So, what is 9.2.2 SITUATION C?
This is nothing more than calling a violation and waving off a basket, no different than saying A1 goes in for a spectacular dunk, but travels on the way up. Ruling: call the violation and wave off the basket
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
This is nothing more than calling a violation and waving off a basket, no different than saying A1 goes in for a spectacular dunk, but travels on the way up. Ruling: call the violation and wave off the basket
Cool! You're starting to get it now!

__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 04:21pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
I disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 05:20pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Cool! You're starting to get it now!


Starting to get what? I don't get it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 08:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
it all happened real quick.
or real quickly or even really quick or even more impressively really quickly.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Yep, I'm thinking you read it wrong. In this sitch they expect you to make the call right then, not when the coach requests it during a time-out. The violation could be called before the basket, but the red words indicate it all happened real quick.
Well, really quickly, answer me this - does the case play suggest you are making the correction after the ball becomes dead (after the basket)? And the reason for the correction is the ball never really became "live" in the first place, due to the violation?

Of course they want us to make the call when it happens. But aren't they telling us that we can blow the whistle after another play happens (pass downcourt, catch, layup, basket), and wipe that off, because we are going back in time to call that violation?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 03, 2006, 10:14am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,991
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Well, really quickly, answer me this - does the case play suggest you are making the correction after the ball becomes dead (after the basket)? And the reason for the correction is the ball never really became "live" in the first place, due to the violation?

Of course they want us to make the call when it happens. But aren't they telling us that we can blow the whistle after another play happens (pass downcourt, catch, layup, basket), and wipe that off, because we are going back in time to call that violation?
Well technically, in 9.2.2sitC didn't the ball become live as soon as B1 had ball at his disposal (grabs ball and moves towards endline).

I don't think the focus of 9.2.2sitC is the cancelling of the basket (that info is superflous in my opinion), the focus is that throwing such a pass should be ruled a violation.

There have been officials in the past (myself included) who would have just blown the play dead and had B1 properly inbound the ball reasoning that the ball never became live so no violation occurred. Now with the clarification of "disposal after a made shot" by the FED, the scenario in 9.2.2sitC clearly is a violation and needs to be ruled as such.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripped from the news wire.. cowbyfan1 Baseball 17 Mon Aug 08, 2005 07:51pm
3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box chuck chopper Softball 8 Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am
Ball hits guy wire during FT Jimgolf Basketball 10 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:03am
Blocked shot after hits backboard... jritchie Basketball 8 Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:36pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1