The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 08:29am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup....and how about the violations during a game that are deliberately not called? Three seconds? Ten seconds for a FT shooter? The officials that think that a palm in the back-court with no pressure shouldn't be called? Little shuffles at the end of blow-outs?

If a coach questions any of those, are you prepared to go back and call them too? You do know that they also actually were violations, remember, same as a ball hitting a wire.

Apples and what are you talking about. This whole thread was (at least in the beginning) about a rule being missinterpreted and resulting in points being scored. It was never about the officials missing the call they chose not to based on the missinterpretation. The Coaches TO in Bobs post was called immediately to have the officials discuss the situation. Correctable based on Fed 2-10 and NCAA 2-11.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Wed Nov 01, 2006 at 09:32am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 09:37am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Apples and what are you talking about.
You obviously don't understand the point that I was trying to make.

That's unfortunate imo.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Jump stop....same thing?

What do you do if a player A drives, jump stop, pivot on right foot, shot successful. Coach calls time out (before ball is inbounded) and approaches you and pleads his case for the travelling. During the TO you talk to your partner and he says...."what a dumbazz coach, he is trying to tell me that you can't pivot after a jump stop." You realize that your partner has screwed up the rule. Do you correct that and take points off of the board?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 10:37am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTex
What do you do if a player A drives, jump stop, pivot on right foot, shot successful. Coach calls time out (before ball is inbounded) and approaches you and pleads his case for the travelling. During the TO you talk to your partner and he says...."what a dumbazz coach, he is trying to tell me that you can't pivot after a jump stop." You realize that your partner has screwed up the rule. Do you correct that and take points off of the board?
Great post, Tex.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripped from the news wire.. cowbyfan1 Baseball 17 Mon Aug 08, 2005 07:51pm
3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box chuck chopper Softball 8 Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am
Ball hits guy wire during FT Jimgolf Basketball 10 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:03am
Blocked shot after hits backboard... jritchie Basketball 8 Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:36pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1