![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
muddied) up the waters, I think you did. Anyway, if there is an obvious shot clock violation I blow my whistle and the bucket doesn't count. That is part of officiating with a shot clock. Again, if nobody calls the violation, is it really a violation? If a tree falls... ![]() In the original situation, I live with it. I think several people have said this before. If you show me a rule that clearly says I can go back into time and change a mistake...well, I won't use it anyway!
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
As for going back into time....if you blow the whistle in my shot clock sitch you have done exactly that. Of course you're bright enough to not directly answer my question on that play...that's OK. I think we both know the answer.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Basketball Rules Fundamentals #16 says....
The official's whistle seldom causes the ball to become dead. (it is already dead) We understand that this means it is dead when the foul/violation occurs. I believe this is the basic concept that some have referred to here.
BUT, a violation that is not called is not a violation. There are countless infractions in every game that are not called. The statement above, as I see it, is needed so that the speed of the whistle is not an issue. Picture the original situation as a last second heave from 60 feet. The ball is about to go over the top of the board, but instead hits this wire and travels straight down through the net at high speed, before the ref has time to blow the whistle. But the ref did see the violation, so he can still blow the whistle as the ball is bouncing on the floor and wave off the basket. True, the whistle does not cause the ball to be dead in this case, the violation does. But, without a whistle, we have no violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If a coach questions any of those, are you prepared to go back and call them too? You do know that they also actually were violations, remember, same as a ball hitting a wire. |
|
|||
|
Any set of rules or policies are written with some underlying assumptions. (Otherwise, the rulebook would be as thick as the Bible). One of them is that the Officials working a contest are knowledgeable regarding the rules, procedures and mechanics. Hence the verbiage on some of the rules. Hence, no rule or even Case Study to cover this scenario. But I agree that the error made was not calling the violation. It was not the awarding of the basket. Because the "decision" not not kill the play was made by T, the ball remained live. A live ball went through the basket. I see no way to take the points away.
After the game, I would make it a point to discuss the call with T. But I would also let the assignor know what happened. I would rather he heard it from me than from the coach. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Apples and what are you talking about. This whole thread was (at least in the beginning) about a rule being missinterpreted and resulting in points being scored. It was never about the officials missing the call they chose not to based on the missinterpretation. The Coaches TO in Bobs post was called immediately to have the officials discuss the situation. Correctable based on Fed 2-10 and NCAA 2-11.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!" All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free. Last edited by bob jenkins; Wed Nov 01, 2006 at 09:32am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
A violation that is not called is not a violation.
Quote:
Notice this is written in present tense. Therefore, I further conclude that there is no provision for looking back and saying that, at a certain point, the ball became dead. Picture this: During a loose ball, there is a pile of bodies, both officials hear a loud smack, but neither can see what happened. A1 comes out of the pile with the ball, but loses it out of bounds. He then turns to the official, and displays a hand print on his arm. He points at B1, "That guy fouled me!" B1 confesses. "Yes, I did. Sorry about that." Now everybody knows about it. There is even still visual evidence of it. BUT IT'S TOO LATE TO CALL IT.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Is there something else in there you forgot to copy/paste?
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think I put enough smiley faces in my response to you to indicate I was half joking about it and there is no way I will ever say I don't make mistakes. If I know there is a shot clock violation I blow the whistle. I don't know what you want me to say to answer your question. If there is a shot clock violation and we play on - for some reason - the coach's timeout does not make this huge difference that many are making it out to be. This whole conversation opens the door for a coach to call a timeout and question every judgement call.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You know as well as I do we have ways with dealing with coaches who do this. Anyway, I'm glad you agree that you'll fix it after the fact if a rule is set aside inadvertently and a goal is scored in the shot clock case. I just don't see how *that* case is any different from Bob's case, that's all. You and some others seem to be saying you won't do it simply because the coach brought it up. Doesn't seem right to me. Anyway interesting discussion, we're still friends.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ripped from the news wire.. | cowbyfan1 | Baseball | 17 | Mon Aug 08, 2005 07:51pm |
| 3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box | chuck chopper | Softball | 8 | Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am |
| Ball hits guy wire during FT | Jimgolf | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:03am |
| Blocked shot after hits backboard... | jritchie | Basketball | 8 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:36pm |
| batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |