The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Thanks M&M Guy. You said exactly what I was thinking when I asked my question.

Tomegun, I interpreted allow as the official saw the ball hit the wire and knew the ball should be dead but allowed play to continue and then was questioned/caught by the coach for not applying a rule properly. I did not read into the play the official allowed play to continue because of a mistake. That is why I asked if I was reading too much into the question.

BTW, I am good for a few mistakes per game myself.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:30am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ehcco
.

Tomegun, I interpreted allow as the official saw the ball hit the wire and knew the ball should be dead but allowed play to continue and then was questioned/caught by the coach for not applying a rule properly.
Don't matter. There's no rule in the book that will allow you to go back and change the non-call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:33am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Don't matter. There's no rule in the book that will allow you to go back and change the non-call.
Try 2-10-1 it does say Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertantly set aside and results in:
d. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 10:46am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Try 2-10-1 it does say Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertantly set aside and results in:
d. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
Yup, now what rule was inadvertantly set aside? You tell me. Cite a rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2006, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Try 2-10-1 it does say Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertantly set aside and results in:
d. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
Forgive me if this is already answered, but I can't read through 4 pages of this. First off, if you P doesn't know this is a violation, you have a whole lot more to worry about for the rest of the game.

An example of a rule being inadvertently set aside and resulting in erroneously counting a score would be if your P called the violation, but the scorekeeper counted it anyway. I am not going back and wiping the basket.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 12:05am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mregor
Forgive me if this is already answered, but I can't read through 4 pages of this. First off, if you P doesn't know this is a violation, you have a whole lot more to worry about for the rest of the game.

An example of a rule being inadvertently set aside and resulting in erroneously counting a score would be if your P called the violation, but the scorekeeper counted it anyway. I am not going back and wiping the basket.

Mregor
Part of what you are saying has been addressed. I strongly agree with the part about the partner. As for the second part, if the violation had been called but the basket was signaled good, that would be a correctable error. If the violation was called, the basket waved off, then the scorekeeper counted it anyway, the result would be a bookkeeping mistake, which can be corrected any time up until the referee approves the final score.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 12:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Part of what you are saying has been addressed. I strongly agree with the part about the partner. As for the second part, if the violation had been called but the basket was signaled good, that would be a correctable error. If the violation was called, the basket waved off, then the scorekeeper counted it anyway, the result would be a bookkeeping mistake, which can be corrected any time up until the referee approves the final score.
Yep, you're right about correcting a bookkeping error at anytime. Incorrect case on my part.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 02, 2006, 10:57am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
So be honest now, everyone...how many of you actually thought - the first time you read the original post - that this thread would end up going for 11 freaking pages???

Just checked with my online bookie, and Vegas has the over/under set at 15...personally, I'm thinking M&M and JR can do 15 pages of arguing in their sleep!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ripped from the news wire.. cowbyfan1 Baseball 17 Mon Aug 08, 2005 07:51pm
3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box chuck chopper Softball 8 Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am
Ball hits guy wire during FT Jimgolf Basketball 10 Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:03am
Blocked shot after hits backboard... jritchie Basketball 8 Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:36pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1