![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
This is a violation on A1 for causing the ball to go out of bounds on the shot attempt. Basket would not count because the ball would be dead and ruled out of bounds. If no one saw the ball hit the wire, then everything that took place would continue and the basket would count. This is clearly not a correctable error situation if someone did not call a violation.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
I agree with Camron.
I only agree with part of JRut's response. The signature line leaves something to be desired...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
How many Cardinal jerseys were there? Ok, I'm done. Leave me alone so I can sulk in peace.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Suppose, immediately after the ball goes through the basket, the coach requests and is granted a TO.
The coach approaches the T official and gets the official to agree that the ball hit the wire, but the official thinks that the ball remains in play after doing so. The coach approaches the L official and gets the L official to agree that the ball hitting the wire makes the ball dead, but the L official didn't see that happen. The officials talk and T convinces L that the ball hit the wire; L convinces T that the ball should have been dead and the basket shouldn't have counted. Now what? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
But the L knew the rule. You gonna claim you don't know the rule? "I know nuthink! Nuthink!!"
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Anyway, if you're forcing us to stay on-topic, I would have to say it's correctable. In your scenario, the T saw the play, mis-applied a rule by seeing the ball hit the support and not ruling it dead. It wasn't an issue of "not seeing" the violation, or judgement as to whether the ball hit the support or not. Wipe off the basket by team A, do not charge a TO, and give the ball to B for a spot throw-in following the violation. I would then talk to my (obviously) inexperienced partner and tell them we need to not do that again.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
If all three of you missed the violation I do not think that you can go back and call the violation after the fact. If one of you saw it they should have called it even late.
If you all missed it then you all are going to have to live with it - and I see no way that you can do anything to correct it, maybe elasticity but no other way out that I can see.
|
|
|||
|
I think the point being discussed really revolves around whether the words "results in" in the correctable error rule mean:
The rule set aside must be directly related to the counting or canceling the goal itself, not a prior infractions.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
I am sorry for hijacking this tread, but I "gots" to do it.
Quote:
BTW, get used to this; you will hear this the entire year. Now TJ has seen his team win a Championship in his lifetime. ![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Ripped from the news wire.. | cowbyfan1 | Baseball | 17 | Mon Aug 08, 2005 07:51pm |
| 3rd strike dropped hits me, hits batter out of box | chuck chopper | Softball | 8 | Sat May 07, 2005 01:21am |
| Ball hits guy wire during FT | Jimgolf | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 01, 2005 03:03am |
| Blocked shot after hits backboard... | jritchie | Basketball | 8 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:36pm |
| batter hits ball after hits ground | kfinucan | Softball | 13 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm |