The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member

elbow(s)

this is my first year working college games; I'm studying the NCAA rulebook, noting differences between the high school & college game. The difference in the rule for excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) surprised me. In college, if B1 violates while A1's try is in flight, the violation is ignored if the try is successful. That's not the case in high school. Why no penalty for the violation in college on a made basket?

Last edited by mdray; Wed Oct 25, 2006 at 07:14pm.
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member

How many of us have actually called a excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) violation on any level?
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdray
this is my first year working college games; I'm studying the NCAA rulebook, noting differences between the high school & college game. The difference in the rule for excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) surprised me. In college, if B1 violates while A1's try is in flight, the violation is ignored if the try is successful. The ball is awarded to team B at the designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred. That's not the case in high school. Why no penalty for the violation in college?
There's only no penalty in this case if A1's try goes in.
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 07:21pm
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwanr1
How many of us have actually called a excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) violation on any level?
I have.
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I have.
Me three!
Old Wed Oct 25, 2006, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member

Quote: