The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   elbow(s) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29102-elbow-s.html)

mdray Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:47pm

elbow(s)

this is my first year working college games; I'm studying the NCAA rulebook, noting differences between the high school & college game. The difference in the rule for excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) surprised me. In college, if B1 violates while A1's try is in flight, the violation is ignored if the try is successful. That's not the case in high school. Why no penalty for the violation in college on a made basket? :confused:

Mwanr1 Wed Oct 25, 2006 07:00pm

How many of us have actually called a excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) violation on any level?

Dan_ref Wed Oct 25, 2006 07:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdray
this is my first year working college games; I'm studying the NCAA rulebook, noting differences between the high school & college game. The difference in the rule for excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) surprised me. In college, if B1 violates while A1's try is in flight, the violation is ignored if the try is successful. The ball is awarded to team B at the designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred. That's not the case in high school. Why no penalty for the violation in college? :confused:

There's only no penalty in this case if A1's try goes in.

Jurassic Referee Wed Oct 25, 2006 07:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mwanr1
How many of us have actually called a excessively swinging arm(s) or elbow(s) violation on any level?

I have.<i></i>

truerookie Wed Oct 25, 2006 09:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I have.<i></i>

Me three!:D

Larks Wed Oct 25, 2006 09:11pm

Quote:

I have but not at the V level. I had a few FR and JV a couple years back. Seems like it's not as common the higher the level OR....they actually make contact!