The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Pass to yourself??

Question:if A2 receives a pass from A1 and then A2 trys to pass to A3 who has left the area where A2 thinks they were, A2 goes and recovers the ball:

Either A)A2 has commited a violation, or B)A2 can legally get the ball and dribble, or C)A2 can legally get the ball but not dribble????????
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
How do they recover the ball?

This essentially sounds like the start of a dribble to me, so they should be able to recover the ball without penalty. If they recover the ball with one hand and keep dribbling it, then there should also be no penalty. If they recover the ball by grabbing it with two hands, this would end the dribble, so any subsequent dribbling would be a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 09:39am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Everything depends on what A2 did with the ball after getting the pass from A1. If A2 passes to A3 and then goes and gets the ball without another player touching it, you treat it as the start of a dribble.

1) If A2 dribbled before trying to pass to A3, then touching the ball after the pass before it touched another player would be an illegal second dribble by A2.
2) If A2 had not dribbled before trying to pass to A3, then A2 can legally go get the ball before another player touches it and (a) continue dribbling, or (b) grab the ball to legally end the dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Just for the record, there's no such thing as a "pass to yourself." Check the definition of pass in rule 4.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
this is all the information that was given... nothing says that A2 has already dribbled or not, so i have to assume they haven't since it doesn't say so, so i'm going to still go with the 3rd option C.... legal to get ball, but now has no dribble
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 10:53am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie
this is all the information that was given... nothing says that A2 has already dribbled or not, so i have to assume they haven't since it doesn't say so, so i'm going to still go with the 3rd option C.... legal to get ball, but now has no dribble
They do have a dribble in (C) if they don't end the dribble when they catch up to the ball....just as JimGolf described in his post. A2 can continue the dribble that he started when he threw the ball to A3 as long as he doesn't touch the ball with two hands or the ball comes to rest when he catches up to it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie
Question:if A2 receives a pass from A1 and then A2 trys to pass to A3 who has left the area where A2 thinks they were, A2 goes and recovers the ball:
The answer depends on what the interp of the word recovers is. This is what's so annoying about the Fed test. They tell you not to read anything into it, and then they print something as ambiguous as "recovers" which can't possibly be pinned down. Grrr...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
If the ball becomes loose, then player control is lost. Can't the player regain control of the ball and dribble?????
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 01:50pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ignats75
If the ball becomes loose, then player control is lost. Can't the player regain control of the ball and dribble?????
It depends on when and how the player control is lost.

If player control is lost before the dribble ended, then that player can go and recover the ball, either by grabbing the ball or by continuing to dribble. If the player grabs the ball, the dribble has ended and they can't dribble again. Continuing the dribble is legal; it's considered to be an interrupted dribble.

If player control ended after the dribble has also ended, then it depends on how the player control ended. If it ended on a fumble, then the player can go get the fumble but cannot dribble again. If the player control ended on a pass that the passer touches again before the ball touches another player, then that is regarded as an illegal second dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Just for the record, there's no such thing as a "pass to yourself." Check the definition of pass in rule 4.
Just to throw this in there. I know almost all don't care about the pro game, but for those of you who do, You cannot "pass it to yourself". the only thing permissible by pro rules is to dribble it as soon as you get to the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2006, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie
Question:if A2 receives a pass from A1 and then A2 trys to pass to A3 who has left the area where A2 thinks they were, A2 goes and recovers the ball:

Either A)A2 has commited a violation, or B)A2 can legally get the ball and dribble, or C)A2 can legally get the ball but not dribble????????
Although it seems obvious, all the prior posts assume that the ball touched the floor when A2 passed it to "where A3 was". If not, and if A2 moved his/her pivot foot, then it's a violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
forward pass/backwards pass cyrick Football 8 Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:59pm
Pass to Self Rockne33 Basketball 11 Fri Mar 18, 2005 05:05pm
Self Pass IREFU2 Basketball 18 Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:43pm
Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass OverAndBack Football 8 Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm
Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass DH Anderson Basketball 9 Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1