The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 267
Fed Rule Interpretations

Follow the link below to see the newest rule interpretations from the Fed.

http://www.nfhs.org/web/2006/10/2006..._rules_in.aspx
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
The ruling for Number 10 is incomplete. It doesn't explain the situation where you are in team B's gym and you want to leave in one piece.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
The ruling for Number 10 is incomplete. It doesn't explain the situation where you are in team B's gym and you want to leave in one piece.
If it's team B's gym, the official scorekeeper will need to find a way out as well. Maybe you can use them as a shield?...

Is it just me, or is Situation 9 finally a clarification in writing as to how we've been doing it all along? It seems to me there's been discussion before as to when does the throw-in begin, and when is it "at the disposal". Some people had argued in the past that "at the disposal" meant as soon as B1 has the ball and is going OOB for the throw-in. In practice, I've seen the TO called up to the point of the start of the count.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Is it just me, or is Situation 9 finally a clarification in writing as to how we've been doing it all along? It seems to me there's been discussion before as to when does the throw-in begin, and when is it "at the disposal".
It's not just you. I was about to mention the same thing, but you beat me to it. Even if B1 is holding the ball and attempting to get OOB for the throw-in, you can grant the TO.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
I was about to mention the same thing, but you beat me to it.
Ahh...good to see my typing course is actually helping.

www Typing With 1 Hand While Keeping The Other Hand Warm.com. Best $3.95 I ever spent. (Mavis was too expensive.)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 02:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
It's not just you. I was about to mention the same thing, but you beat me to it. Even if B1 is holding the ball and attempting to get OOB for the throw-in, you can grant the TO.
Yup, this one will be in the case book next year. That's usually the general procedure.

I swear that someone on the FED rules committee must read this forum. That's based on the the number of times that rulings have been issued by the FED after some lengthy rules discussions that we've had here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
In practice, I've seen the TO called up to the point of the start of the count.
That's always been the practice / rule -- one starts at exactly the same time as the other ends. The issue is when does that moment occur.

I thought the clarification on "ball location" for the POI in Situations 2 and 12 was good.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2006, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That's always been the practice / rule -- one starts at exactly the same time as the other ends. The issue is when does that moment occur.
I agree.
Judgment as to when to start the count is the key here. There is no other way to understand or teach this.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I thought the clarification on "ball location" for the POI in Situations 2 and 12 was good.
Yep, the NFHS went strictly by 4-4-3.
". . . A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 NFHS Rule Interpretations TxUmp Baseball 0 Tue Feb 07, 2006 09:03am
Infield Fly Rule - interpretations DaNewGuy Softball 8 Wed Jul 13, 2005 01:49pm
Guys - Help me settle a few arguments... re: rule interpretations Baseball_North Baseball 15 Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:53am
Rule Interpretations WestMichBlue Softball 7 Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:13am
FED interpretations? Randallump Baseball 4 Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1