The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 12:53pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef

9-5-3 must be different in some of your books than it is in mine. My book reads:

A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended unless it is after he/she has lost control because of
A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player.

Sequence:
Dribble
Dribble ends
Fumble or pass deflected by an opponent
Recovery by A1
Dribble again legally

Yup, that's what 9-5-3 reads in my book too.

Sequence
Dribble
Fumble deflected by an opponent
Dribble ends
Recovery by A1
Dribble again legally

Your sequence is wrong and self-serving. The fumble touched by an opponent ended the dribble. The dribble did not end before the touching. That's why it's legal for A1 to dribble again. That's why I still disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 02:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, that's what 9-5-3 reads in my book too.

Sequence
Dribble
Fumble deflected by an opponent
Dribble ends
Recovery by A1
Dribble again legally

Your sequence is wrong and self-serving. The fumble touched by an opponent ended the dribble. The dribble did not end before the touching. That's why it's legal for A1 to dribble again. That's why I still disagree.
Self serving? LOL!

Please explain to me how a dribbler can fumble the ball.

Only a player that is holding the ball can fumble.

There is no fumble when a ball is dribbled off the opponent's foot or any other time a ball is being dribbled.

This maybe the worst argument you have ever made on these boards.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 03:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef

1) Please explain to me how a dribbler can fumble the ball.

2) This maybe the worst argument you have ever made on these boards.
1) NFHS rule 4-15-5- Interrupted dribble.

2) Give me time. I'll make more.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) NFHS rule 4-15-5- Interrupted dribble.

2) Give me time. I'll make more.
1) Now you're just being silly and obviously egging this on.

How is an interrupted dribble "the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp." A player who is dribbling is not grasping the ball. Okay, you got me...you're wrong and you know it.

2) LOL!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Why can't bouncing it off another player, whether that player is a teammate or a defender, be ruled a "pass"? Rule 9-5-3 just sez "touched or been touched by another player". If you bounced a ball off of a teammate, could you dribble again? Rule 9-5-3 says so, doesn't it?

And the definition of a pass in R4-31 specifies "another player" too. It doesn't differentiate between a teammate and an opponent.
That's almost as funny as saying an interrupted dribble is a fumble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 04:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef


That's almost as funny as saying an interrupted dribble is a fumble.
OK, the dribbler was trying to pass the ball off his opponent's foot.

Got any rule(s) that can over-rule the direct language of R9-5-3 though? That rule says that it's not an illegal second dribble if the dribbler lost control after a pass touched or was touched by another player. A player is any of the 5 team members of each team who are legally on the floor. The definition of a "pass" also specifies that it has to be at a "player", not a "teammate". Ergo, if the dribbler passes the ball at any player on the floor, and the ball then touches or is touched by that player, the original passer can go get the ball, pick it up and legally dribble.

Rules citation if you think differently.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel, Illegal Dribble, or No Violation sportmagic Basketball 12 Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:22pm
Illegal start of a dribble? RefLarry Basketball 20 Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm
carry/illegal dribble cowbyfan1 Basketball 37 Thu Dec 04, 2003 09:08am
Illegal Dribble huskyz Basketball 20 Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1