The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
I probably have nothing if the opponent touched the ball. But I see it differently if the opponent was touched by the ball. If the dribbler loses control because of his own action,
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.

You may ask why more players don't dribble off opponent's foot as a matter of strategy to gain a new dribble. Well, I think it's more because it's extremely difficult. I can't imagine even the best player pulling it off very often.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 01:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
This is what I am asking for. Where is this in the rule book? A dribble does not end just because player control ends. (interrupted dribble) As far as the opponent, 4-15-4 c. states that the dribble ends when An opponent bats (intentionallystrikes the ball with the hand(s)) the ball.
This insinuates to me that the ball touching another part of the body does not end the dribble, with the exception of a kicking violation, which of course causes the ball to become dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 01:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
This is what I am asking for. Where is this in the rule book? A dribble does not end just because player control ends. (interrupted dribble) As far as the opponent, 4-15-4 c. states that the dribble ends when An opponent bats (intentionallystrikes the ball with the hand(s)) the ball.
This insinuates to me that the ball touching another part of the body does not end the dribble, with the exception of a kicking violation, which of course causes the ball to become dead.
If you continue to ignore the "unless..." part of 9-5-3 about "been touched by, another player"..., then on your floor, when A1 makes a pass directly to an opponent, where the opponent did not specifically bat the ball, then you would still have A1 dribbling.

Some things a person must do alone.

finis.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
This is what I am asking for. Where is this in the rule book? A dribble does not end just because player control ends. (interrupted dribble) As far as the opponent, 4-15-4 c. states that the dribble ends when An opponent bats (intentionallystrikes the ball with the hand(s)) the ball.
This insinuates to me that the ball touching another part of the body does not end the dribble, with the exception of a kicking violation, which of course causes the ball to become dead.
A dribble can end and the player can't legally dribble again, or it can end, and the player CAN legally dribble again, depending.

When a player has been dribbling and then touches the ball with both hands, the dribble ends, and she doesn't get another dribble. But if she has been dribbling and then an opponent strikes the ball with the hand, now the dribbler gets another dribble. She can use two hands to recover the ball, and then start another dribble.

As far as the rule about player control when it touches another person, I'm not quickly coming up with the reference I want, and I'm gonna have to do some research. I'll get back to you about this.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 02:13pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
As far as the rule about player control when it touches another person, I'm not quickly coming up with the reference I want, and I'm gonna have to do some research. I'll get back to you about this.
4-12-1

After touching another player, the player, previously in control, is neither holding, nor dribbling.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
4-12-1

After touching another player, the player, previously in control, is neither holding, nor dribbling.
Mick, this cite doesn't do it for me. 1)your wording doesn't refer to the ball and sounds as though we're talking about player-to-player body contact. I know that's not what you meant, but I'm just channelling my old English-teaching grandmother who was very picky about referents and so on.

2) the wording in the rule book clearly doesn't say this. It also doesn't say it's not true. It's just not there. I don't have time right now to plow around and find a better reference, but I"ll work on it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 03:52pm
Nu1 Nu1 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 132
Rule 4-15-4 (2005-06 I don't have the new ones yet, if they're out) lists ways a dribble can end. But the list isn't all inclusive, is it? For example, it lists that the dribble ends when...the dribbler catches the ball or it comes to rest in the hand...the dribbler palms / carries the ball...the dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with two hands...the opponent bats the ball...and the ball becomes dead.

What if A1 is standing still and dribblling the ball...A2 walks towards A1 and A1 lets the ball bounce as A1 walks away. A2 then grabs the ball and dribbles, passes or shoots. The dribble by A1 ended, correct? But A1 did not do anything listed in the rule for how a dribble ends.

When I'm reffing and the ball hits a defender, intentional or not, I have the dribble as ended and the dribbler can recover and dribble again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 04:28pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
As far as the rule about player control when it touches another person, I'm not quickly coming up with the reference I want, and I'm gonna have to do some research. I'll get back to you about this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
4-12-1

After touching another player, the player, previously in control, is neither holding, nor dribbling.



Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Mick, this cite doesn't do it for me. 1)your wording doesn't refer to the ball and sounds as though we're talking about player-to-player body contact. I know that's not what you meant, but I'm just channelling my old English-teaching grandmother who was very picky about referents and so on.

2) the wording in the rule book clearly doesn't say this. It also doesn't say it's not true. It's just not there. I don't have time right now to plow around and find a better reference, but I"ll work on it.
Jewel,
My apology for being obtuse.

The point I attempted to make was that player control involves holding/dribbling the ball. and if the ball has touched another player, then the original player was no longer holding/dribbling and thus no longer in control.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 05:03pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
1) My apology for being obtuse.

2) The point I attempted to make was that player control involves holding/dribbling the ball. and if the ball has touched another player, then the original player was no longer holding/dribbling and thus no longer in control.
mick
1) No need to apologize. Try the Pritkin Diet. Supposed to make you concave instead.

2) Yup, still team control but no player control because the player cannot immediately dribble. And you can't call it an "interrupted dribble" either because that definition(4-15-5) just mentions the ball going off the dribbler, not another player.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Did anyone read the post that I already made in this thread?
I cited the relevant rules therein.

This seems ridiculous, but according to the rules AS WRITTEN, the play described in the original post is a double dribble violation. The NFHS needs to fix this! It seems to be a gap in the current rules. I have never called this a violation before because I have never closely examined the legality of the play.

Which body part of the defender the dribble strikes definitely matters as only a bat WITH THE HAND ends the dribble and permits a new one by the original dribbler. Why? Because that's what the rules book specifies.

9-5-3, which Mick and JR are using to justify the legality of the play, only applies to a PASS or a FUMBLE. It says so right there in black and white. In this situation the ball certainly is NOT passed, and it doesn't seem to meet the rules book definition of a fumble either. Therefore, I don't believe that this rule is applicable.

Rainmaker,
Keep searching, if you find anything in addition to what I have already posted, please let us know!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 14, 2006, 01:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
Yup, doing so is interpreted as a fumble under rule 9-5-3. JAR is interpreting 9-5-3 differently than anyone else that I've ever met.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 04:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
The ref is part of the floor and would not be part of the things the ball can touch to enable a second dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.
Camron made a great catch on this. As worded here this is a common basketball myth, I'm amazed when above kiddy ball a player will look at me in disbelief and shock when he restarts his dribble after an opponent merely touches the ball and I blow the whistle. But it happens, and my response is always to smile and say "You are kidding me, right?"
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
That's your wording, not the rule book's. If it touches anyone else, opponent, ref, teammate, at any body part, player control is lost, the dribble is gone and the former dribbler is entitled to a new dribble.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Camron made a great catch on this. As worded here this is a common basketball myth, I'm amazed when above kiddy ball a player will look at me in disbelief and shock when he restarts his dribble after an opponent merely touches the ball and I blow the whistle. But it happens, and my response is always to smile and say "You are kidding me, right?"

Hmmm.....

Well, I can't find what I thought I'd seen in the past, namely a rule that says that if the ball touches another player, then a new dribble is allowed. So let me get this straight. A1 is dribbling. She bats the ball down, it hits the foot of B1 and bounces away. Okay, now A1 can continue the dribble if she uses only one hand, and only the dribbling action, right? Or she can retrieve the ball with two hands, but she then gets no more dribble, right? But she can't "pick the ball up" and then "continue" the dribble, as described by the OP?

Now what about the play where A1 is holding the ball having already dribbled, and then ended her dribble, and she then bounces it off the back or leg of an opponent and then gets the ball and dribbles? Is this different?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 15, 2006, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Quote:


Hmmm.....

Well, I can't find what I thought I'd seen in the past, namely a rule that says that if the ball touches another player, then a new dribble is allowed.
The relevant play is A1 picks up his dribble, B1 comes up & slaps, grabs or in some other way makes contact with the ball without A1 losing control of the ball. The myth, which you support in the way you originally worded your post and again here, is that A1 can now start a new dribble. He cannot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel, Illegal Dribble, or No Violation sportmagic Basketball 12 Fri Mar 10, 2006 05:22pm
Illegal start of a dribble? RefLarry Basketball 20 Thu Oct 20, 2005 01:57pm
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm
carry/illegal dribble cowbyfan1 Basketball 37 Thu Dec 04, 2003 09:08am
Illegal Dribble huskyz Basketball 20 Fri Nov 28, 2003 01:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1