The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 31, 2006, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 219
Bill Laimbeer's behavior has always been a detriment to the sport of basketball. It's too bad as he is an intelligent, likeable person off the court. In Isiah Thomas last game in the Old Boston Garden, I saw him stick an elbow out on a screen of Sherman Douglas that almost took Sherman's eye out. His style of "physical" basketball was always just "flagrant" fouls. They intended to do injury. The kids during the Bad Boys Era went just crazy with pushing and shoving.

He is one of the WNBA's Big names. The behavior they let him display is an affront to all the parents bringing their kids to watch the games which are often great.

QUESTION: I saw this one last night and I admit I'm stumped to find the NFHS Rule to support my opinion. I thought it was a good call. Player A holding ball is airborne over end line. Player B slides on floor and arm extends OOB. Player B touches airborne Player A with other arm. The Ref called it OOB with Team A maintaining pocession. Is there an NFHS Rule that supports this case?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 31, 2006, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCrow
QUESTION: I saw this one last night and I admit I'm stumped to find the NFHS Rule to support my opinion. I thought it was a good call. Player A holding ball is airborne over end line. Player B slides on floor and arm extends OOB. Player B touches airborne Player A with other arm. The Ref called it OOB with Team A maintaining pocession. Is there an NFHS Rule that supports this case?
If I understand the scenario you are describing (and I'm not sure that I do), this would be nothing in NFHS. See case play 7.1.1 Situation A.

In your case, out-of-bounds player B1 makes contact with A1. This does not cause A1 to be out of bounds since a player is not an object.

Z
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bill Welke's CP SanDiegoSteve Baseball 7 Wed Apr 26, 2006 11:24am
WNBA truerookie Basketball 12 Thu Sep 01, 2005 07:12am
Bill length moorg Baseball 21 Mon May 09, 2005 06:30pm
Bill Stokes bigwhistle Basketball 10 Mon Aug 26, 2002 03:32pm
WNBA Playoffs rainmaker Basketball 47 Tue Aug 20, 2002 03:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1