The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 08:53am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Thanks, I was meaning which team though. But I will look at the rule!
My VA homeboy, what are you thinking?

First of all, don't you mean "in Team B's front court?

Second of all, if the ball goes through Team B's basket why would you think that B's gets doesn't get credit for the points? Would you be asking this question if it were an accidental tip-in? Don't overthink the situation, apply the most basic of rules and you have your answer.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
My VA homeboy, what are you thinking?

First of all, don't you mean "in Team B's front court?

Second of all, if the ball goes through Team B's basket why would you think that B's gets doesn't get credit for the points? Would you be asking this question if it were an accidental tip-in? Don't overthink the situation, apply the most basic of rules and you have your answer.
Just trying to get some light on the subject. It was a mad house last night and my partner insisted I was wrong, so I was getting some confirmation. Actually I meant Team A's is going from the backcourt to the front court and A scores on B's basket. Make sense now?
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 09:05am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Just trying to get some light on the subject. It was a mad house last night and my partner insisted I was wrong, so I was getting some confirmation. Actually I meant Team A's is going from the backcourt to the front court and A scores on B's basket. Make sense now?
Makes sense, but..... as I asked before, how do you believe that is any different that than someone accidentally tipping the ball in the wrong basket?

Did your partner who insisted you were wrong have a rules book reference to back him up?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Makes sense, but..... as I asked before, how do you believe that is any different that than someone accidentally tipping the ball in the wrong basket?

Did your partner who insisted you were wrong have a rules book reference to back him up?
I knew the rule, couldnt quote it, dont have my book here or at the game. Just needed confirmation. Sometimes the simplest rules are complicated. i am not a walking rule book like you big dawg!!!!
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 09:20am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by IREFU2
Actually I meant Team A's is going from the backcourt to the front court and A scores on B's basket. Make sense now?
If they were confused as to which way they were going and went from backcourt to frontcourt (which would actually be their frontcourt to backcourt, I think) and scored in wrong basket then that would be over and back violation before the score. Or am I reading too much into this and don't understand what actually happened. Unless the inbounds pass was into the backcourt (or is that the frontcourt) Ohhh I am soo confused now.

LOL Smokey
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
If they were confused as to which way they were going and went from backcourt to frontcourt (which would actually be their frontcourt to backcourt, I think) and scored in wrong basket then that would be over and back violation before the score. Or am I reading too much into this and don't understand what actually happened. Unless the inbounds pass was into the backcourt (or is that the frontcourt) Ohhh I am soo confused now.

LOL Smokey
Long story short - A2 scored on Team B's Basket.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 09:29am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Gotcha
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 339
I also see smokey's point, it all depends where the ball was inbounded, becuase if it were in the front court and then B moved into their back court, you have a violation occur first so the basket is no good, Then it goes back to if the official recognized that a backcourt violation occured but not called and the you have a correctable error. And basket doesn't count..

As for a tip in, then you award the basket to the player closet to the play, and the other team get the points, meaning Team B, WOW.....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 12:42pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by REFVA
I also see smokey's point, it all depends where the ball was inbounded, becuase if it were in the front court and then B moved into their back court, you have a violation occur first so the basket is no good, Then it goes back to if the official recognized that a backcourt violation occured but not called and the you have a correctable error. And basket doesn't count..
Completely wrong. A violation that wasn't called is not a correctable error. You cannot go back and call it retroactively, and you also can't go back and cancel the made basket retroactively.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 01, 2006, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by REFVA
As for a tip in, then you award the basket to the player closet to the play, and the other team get the points, meaning Team B, WOW.....
This is also not correct. As JR already pointed out, no player is credited with the points when the ball is scored in the wrong basket. It's simply stated in a footnote at the bottom of the scorer's page.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wrong basket CK Basketball 16 Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:52pm
Wrong Basket Tweet Basketball 4 Sun Jan 11, 2004 11:29pm
Wrong Basket som44 Basketball 6 Mon Mar 03, 2003 07:52am
Wrong Basket? Riley1996 Basketball 15 Mon Mar 04, 2002 06:57pm
Scoring a basket by the other team Hawks Coach Basketball 10 Wed Apr 26, 2000 06:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1