![]() |
|
|
|||
Nope, the team had to have player contol of the ball inbounds ( holding or dribbling the ball) before a time-out request should have been granted. The official made the wrong call. Once he did blow his whistle though, he still does have to grant the time-out request, whether it was wrongly made or not.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Quote:
In FED since there is no team control during a throw-in would we be going to the AP arrow? Does the NFHS rulebook address inadvertant whistles during a throw-in???
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Tue May 16, 2006 at 03:37am. |
|
|||
Quote:
Chuck had it right. Now, if a player hadda touched the throw-in and you then had an IW before player control was established, then you would have to go to the AP.....and probably also have had to dump the team A coach if B has the arrow. ![]() Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon May 15, 2006 at 01:57pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Realistically, I'd probably give the ball to team A, but I want to throw this other rule reference out there for discussion.
I agree with BadNewsRef in that the throw-in should be resumed by the alternating possession arrow. Part c of the same rule that JR quoted (4-36-2c) says, "An alternating-possession throw-in when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved." When I read that rule I am led to believe that the play does not involve an infraction because to me that's either a violation or a foul and not an inadvertent whistle. Thoughts?!? |
|
|||
Quote:
Were you implying that perhaps because of no player control, then the POI would be correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Thoughts? How can you say the above when R4-36-1 says "method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle"? The "accidental whistle" occured DURING a throw-in. You've got a very definitive ruling to use right out of the rule book in R4-36-2(b), and you want to say it's not applicable. Lah me..... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
4-36-2(b) Play shall be resumed by a free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. The IW occurs during the throw-in, as the throw-in has not ended because the ball has not been touched inbounds. Since the throw-in is the POI, that's how the game is restarted. The rule doesn't require a violation or a foul.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
No rolling fists this year | ABoselli | Football | 12 | Sat May 21, 2005 02:37pm |
"Rolling" the ball | Nu1 | Basketball | 3 | Thu Jul 01, 2004 11:12am |
Rolling the Ball Inbounds | PGCougar | Basketball | 28 | Mon Feb 16, 2004 07:53pm |
dribbling a rolling ball | stewcall | Basketball | 7 | Wed Jun 25, 2003 01:11pm |
Ball rolling onto court | rvietti | Basketball | 4 | Mon Jan 08, 2001 06:28pm |