![]() |
|
|
|||
A few more questions...
IN my previous queston, I will explain what happened. A Players was recorded in the official scorebook. He did not show up for the game until the beginning of the 2nd half. The coach on the other team said that since he showed up late he is allowed to play but the team is chareged a technical foul as a result of him showing up late. is this correct.
Also could some one explain the difference between an intentional, flagragrant and technical flagrant and the penalities for each. I am a little confused on this. Thanks so much. |
|
|||
If the player is in the scorebook, it doesn't matter when they show up. They can play with no penalty.
An intentional personal foul is a live ball foul. You need to read the intentional foul section in the NFHS rule book because there is more to it than a foul that is "on purpose." The offended team gets two foul shots plus a throw-in at the spot nearest the foul. A flagrant foul is any foul that warrants an ejection from the game. It can be personal (live ball) or technical (dead ball) and the player is ejected from the game (to the bench under the supervision of the coach). Two free throws plus a throw-in. Throw-in at the spot nearest the foul if personal. Throw-in at halfcourt if technical. Read rule 4-19 (foul). There is just too much to type to explain it all. It will make more sense to you when you read that rule. Z |
|
|||
I think the distinction is contact during a dead ball that is intentional or flagrant is a technical foul. But that doesn't mean that a technical foul implies a dead ball (on a flagrant foul), as Snag's example illustrates.
Remember to keep personal and technical fouls separate. Personal fouls always involve contact, while technical fouls may or may not involve contact. |
|
|||
Quote:
It's a "T" even if the intentional or flagrant contact is on or by an airborne shooter while the ball is dead? See rule 4-19-1 and 4-19-5(c)...... |
|
|||
Quote:
1. legal block 2. lousy shot that will obviously miss 3. really, really good hang time ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]()
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
My bad Chuck - I'm confusing "end of shot attempt" with "dead ball". I guess if a shot is block [end of shot] and a foul occurs away from the shooter [dead ball] then the shooter is fouled as well, that is a dead ball foul on an airborne shooter. The foul after a dunk sounds good!
|
|
|||
Question 2. If a players number is recorded in the score book and the player allowed to enter the game at anytime without a penalty to that team?
IAABO Refresher Exam 2005 Question 73. Squad member #45 missed the bus and is not present at the time the squad list and starting lineup must be submitted for team members. During the pregame warmup, the referee counts eleven team members of team A but while checking the book team A has twelve team members listed. Referee informs the coach that the squad member who is not present may not be placed in the book even if he/she will get to the game late. Is the referee correct? Answer: Yes Rule Citation:Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1; Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ...sounds to me like whoever crafted in that wording was thinking a bit hard as well. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
I do, however, agree that the way the rule is written allows differing opinions. And I don't think it will happen very often (I've never seen what I would rule intentional contact by an AS or on an AS), I will call an AS, for example, who forcefully uses his hand to the face of an opponent for no reason as an intentional or flagrant foul if it meets the requirements of those rules otherwise. |
|
|||
Quote:
You're wrong in calling this particular foul as being a technical foul, and calling this play according to your interpretation could possibly be a factor in a game. Giving a defender a "T" for intentional contact on an airborne shooter when the ball was dead instead of giving him the intentional personal foul that the rule calls for could possibly mean the ejection of that player for getting a second technical foul. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
questions re: | [email protected] | Baseball | 13 | Mon Jun 02, 2003 07:16am |
PSK and IW Questions | mikesears | Football | 8 | Tue Jan 28, 2003 09:38am |
Questions for Gee | Marty Rogers | Baseball | 11 | Sat May 25, 2002 01:34pm |
2 more questions | barney19 | Lacrosse | 2 | Tue May 07, 2002 10:12am |
Questions to consider | Bfair | Baseball | 3 | Mon May 06, 2002 10:02pm |