The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 26, 2006, 02:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
My two cents:
1. I agree with everything JR wrote.
2. Here's the case book play requested (the number has changed in the newest version):

4.41.2 SITUATION: A1 becomes confused and throws the ball at the wrong basket. A1 is fouled by B1 and the ball goes into the basket. Is this a successful basket? If A1 missed, would A1 be awarded two free throws for the foul by B1? RULING: No goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player throws at the opponent's basket, it is not a try. If the team is in the bonus when B1 fouled A1, A1 is given either a one-and-one attempt or two free throws at Team A's basket. If Team A was not in the bonus, then the ball is awarded to Team A for a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul. (7-5-5)

3. Texas Aggie is EXACTLY correct on the proper mechanic to use when a team scores in the wrong goal due to confusion. This is detailed on page 21 of the Simplified and Illustrated book from the NFHS.

"4-5-2 Number 4 is confused and dunks the ball in B's basket. The covering official stops play after the dunk and credits the two points to Team B. Team A will then be given the ball for a throw-in from anywhere outside the end line."

An accidental tip-in requires no stoppage as all the players know the proper direction of play. Just make sure that the correct team makes the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 26, 2006, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
The "delayed backcourt violation" was a description and not a basketball term. In other words, what I was getting at was a play like this (make sure you are clear on what I'm saying):

Ball is in A's frontcourt. Everyone gets confused (start of the half, perhaps) and A1 goes from his frontcourt into his backcourt on a breakaway. B1 fouls A1 as A1 is going in for a layup. Referee signals foul while umpire comes running in and clears up the issue: A1 shot at his opponent's basket, so there's certainly no free throws or made shot. R/U talk and decide that the ball should have become dead when A1 committed the backcourt violation. That's where I'm putting the ball into play at the division line, B's ball. No foul.

An official can enforce a violation, even if he doesn't realize it immediately. All you have to say is, "coach, I got turned around, and then realized there was a violation prior to the foul." That wouldn't be any different than a trail coming in on a lead who just called a foul and saying, "the offensive player traveled before the contact." In the scenario above, it could be that the Umpire likely knew that A1 committed a backcourt violation, but wanted to confirm with the Referee that he or she was actually in their frontcourt first. Just because it would take a few more seconds doesn't mean you shouldn't do it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 26, 2006, 01:33pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
1) Ball is in A's frontcourt. Everyone gets confused (start of the half, perhaps) and A1 goes from his frontcourt into his backcourt on a breakaway. B1 fouls A1 as A1 is going in for a layup. Referee signals foul while umpire comes running in and clears up the issue: A1 shot at his opponent's basket, so there's certainly no free throws or made shot. R/U talk and decide that the ball should have become dead when A1 committed the backcourt violation. That's where I'm putting the ball into play at the division line, B's ball. No foul.
That's nice. And what do you do if you don't catch that A violation until B goes the other way and scores or misses also? Flip a coin to see what team you're gonna call the backcourt violation against? Again.... you have absolutely NO rules basis to do what you're suggesting. Aamof, you're completely going against the written rules(i.e. the case plays already cited) if you try to do what you're advocating, all you are doing is making up your own rules and ignoring the ones that we already have. Somehow, I really don't think that's the right way to handle this situation. Bad advice imo.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 26, 2006, 07:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
It's so much easier to call the common foul here. It's the easiest explanation. It's the quickest resolution. And, most importantly, it's what the rules call for.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 30, 2006, 01:38pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
The "delayed backcourt violation" was a description and not a basketball term. In other words, what I was getting at was a play like this (make sure you are clear on what I'm saying):

Ball is in A's frontcourt. Everyone gets confused (start of the half, perhaps) and A1 goes from his frontcourt into his backcourt on a breakaway. B1 fouls A1 as A1 is going in for a layup. Referee signals foul while umpire comes running in and clears up the issue: A1 shot at his opponent's basket, so there's certainly no free throws or made shot. R/U talk and decide that the ball should have become dead when A1 committed the backcourt violation. That's where I'm putting the ball into play at the division line, B's ball. No foul.

An official can enforce a violation, even if he doesn't realize it immediately. All you have to say is, "coach, I got turned around, and then realized there was a violation prior to the foul." That wouldn't be any different than a trail coming in on a lead who just called a foul and saying, "the offensive player traveled before the contact." In the scenario above, it could be that the Umpire likely knew that A1 committed a backcourt violation, but wanted to confirm with the Referee that he or she was actually in their frontcourt first. Just because it would take a few more seconds doesn't mean you shouldn't do it.
OK - let's use an exaggerated example to make the point. Assume the foul on B1 was flagrant - he not only punched A1 in the tater tots, he then jumped up and down on the fallen body then took out a wet noodle and gave A1 40 lashes. Would you just ignore it and tell the coach you didn't catch the backcourt violation so the foul "doesn't count"?

What I'm getting at is that you can't make this call based on the severity or importance of what happened next. If you don't recognize and react to the violation when it occurs, you can't call it retroactively. If the rules wanted to allow you to do so, then this situation would be listed under correctable errors.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4" low and 4" off the plate. mick Baseball 17 Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:45pm
"Tail Wagging The Dog" BigUmp56 Baseball 17 Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:56pm
players shoots in wrong basket and gets fouled timharris Basketball 13 Fri Mar 21, 2003 03:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1