The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 07:39am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
[QUOTE=Nevadaref]I disagree with JR. I believe that the action in all three plays is legal. The player FUMBLED the ball and therefore was not in control, thus couldn't travel.

[QUOTE]Nevada, did you read the original post? Maybe you should go back and re-read it. You know better than that. The player fumbled the ball after he became an airborne shooter.

A1 picked up the dribble. A1 then jumped to shoot. While airborne, A1 fumbled the ball. A1 recovered the fumble without any other player touching the ball. A1 then came back down . If A1 came back down with the ball, it's a travel as per the rule that I cited. If A1 drops the ball after the fumble and then is the first to touch it after he comes down, then that's an illegal second dribble. None of the plays are legal.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sat Mar 25, 2006 at 07:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
The player fumbled the ball after he became an airborne shooter.
So you can only recover your own fumble if you fumbled with your feet on the ground?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 11:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias
So you can only recover your own fumble if you fumbled with your feet on the ground?
Who said anything about that?

A player who has left his feet with player control to shoot then fumbles the ball while airborne, recovers that fumble while still airborne, and then comes back down with player control without shooting or passing the ball? Are you saying that isn't traveling?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Who said anything about that?

A player who has left his feet with player control to shoot then fumbles the ball while airborne, recovers that fumble while still airborne, and then comes back down with player control without shooting or passing the ball? Are you saying that isn't traveling?
Yes, that's what I'm saying.

The key is that player control was lost. Whether the player is airborne or not when that happens doesn't matter. There is no traveling violation.

4-44-3b is written such that the player has control the whole time. I don't think that it applies here.

Lastly, a fumble is not a dribble, so the play in which the ball is recovered after the player comes back down and the ball hit the floor is certainly not a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 06:05pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Yes, that's what I'm saying.

The key is that player control was lost. Whether the player is airborne or not when that happens doesn't matter. There is no traveling violation.

4-44-3b is written such that the player has control the whole time. I don't think that it applies here.

Lastly, a fumble is not a dribble, so the play in which the ball is recovered after the player comes back down and the ball hit the floor is certainly not a travel.
Nevada, I ain't gonna change your mind obviously. May I suggest that you take this one to your state interpreter. You're wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2006, 06:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Gotta go with Nevada on this one. A fumble, by definition, is not a dribble. Therefore, it can't be an illegal dribble. Also, the travel rule JR referred to is releasing the ball on a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. Again, it is not a dribble...therefore not a travel. A fumbled ball (judgement of official) can always be picked up.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter SDREGIIBB Basketball 8 Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm
Fumble question Adam Basketball 28 Fri Mar 04, 2005 10:33pm
Fumble Question stewcall Basketball 5 Mon Nov 08, 2004 12:39pm
NCAA 4th down fumble rule? Snake~eyes Football 7 Mon Jun 21, 2004 02:20pm
Airborne shooter RookieDude Basketball 18 Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1