The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2006, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Cool Well, if they are deliberate, then they are not fumbles.

Well, if they are deliberate, then they are not fumbles.

That's like saying, 'you will see alot of deliberate airball shots being passed to one's self'. It's judgement.
__________________
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2006, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
So, you're saying it's a travel to shoot the ball and catch the "rebound" before you land from the original shot?

This is exactly the same sequence of events...PC...PC lost...PC. The fact that one is a shot and the other isn't has no impact. The element that makes the rebound legal is the loss of PC. It doesn't distinguish how it is lost.
C'mon Camron, you're smarter than that. What a foolish suggestion.

4-43-3b clearly states that when an airborne player leaves the floor, the ball MUST be released on a shot or pass before he returns to the floor. If he jumps, fumbles, and returns the floor with the ball, he didn't shoot it or pass it, did it? No, I didn't think so, unless you've changed the definition of a try or a pass.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Sun Mar 26, 2006 at 03:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2006, 07:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
I'm still waiting for our resident IAABO rules interpreter to weigh in with his learned opinion. For some reason, he seems to be avoiding telling us what his take on this one is.

You there, Chuckster?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2006, 07:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
C'mon Camron, you're smarter than that. What a foolish suggestion.

4-43-3b clearly states that when an airborne player leaves the floor, the ball MUST be released on a shot or pass before he returns to the floor. If he jumps, fumbles, and returns the floor with the ball, he didn't shoot it or pass it, did it? No, I didn't think so, unless you've changed the definition of a try or a pass.
And as I posted much earlier in this thread that rule isn't applicable because it comes under the heading which includes "while holding the ball." The rule you are citing definitely governs the play in which the player is holding the ball the entire time. However, it is not clear that it is controlling for this scenario in which PC is lost with a fumble in mid-air.
I'm adding this to my gray area list of NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 26, 2006, 03:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Hmm ....
who is correct..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Ok, I know this is an old thread but I was talking to Nevada about it just this morning, and it reminded me that there was a ruling on this printed in this year's NCAA men's basketball officiating program. I'll just type it out and you can hash out whether we should apply it to our high school games.

Quote:
Play: AFter ending a dribble, A1 leaves the playing court to attempt a try for goal. While airborne, A1 fumbles the ball. A1 (a) recovers the fumble while airborne, or (b) recovers the fumble after returning to the floor. A1 dribbles the ball. The official calls a violation. Is the official correct?

Ruling: Yes. In (a) and (b) A1 is permitted to recover the ball but after recovering the ball, A1 started a second dribble. However, if a fumble is touched by another player and then recovered by A1, while airborne of after a return to the floor, A1 is allowed to start another dribble. If A1 had not previously dribbled the ball, and while airborne fumbled and recovered the ball (while airborne or after a return to the floor), he is permitted to start a dribble.
I added the emphasis in the ruling, b/c that's what we had been discussing. The rationale is clearly what Camron had argued earlier (and I hinted at). You're always allowed to recover a fumble. And since a fumble means loss of player control, it's ok to recover in the air and then land.

Now, should we use this in high school games? I don't see why not. The principle is the same in FED rules. No control, no travel. Hope that's interesting to somebody.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by He who no longer exists
blah blah blah
I thought you left?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 10:47am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckElias

Now, should we use this in high school games? I don't see why not.
And I don't see why.

I though that you were gonna try and get a FED ruling on this.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2006, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Based on my understanding of the three play scenarios, A1 the dribbler can legally gain possession of the ball, (s)he can not move either foot once (s)he lands on the floor or while re-controlling the ball after landing on the floor.
(S)He can shoot, pass it to a team mate or call a TO and or hold the ball with a potential closely guarded count.

A1 muffed and or fumbled the ball.


Also, take a look at NCAA BR-82, A.R. 82. It states that once A1 returns to the floor, (s)he cannot dribble the ball again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter SDREGIIBB Basketball 8 Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm
Fumble question Adam Basketball 28 Fri Mar 04, 2005 10:33pm
Fumble Question stewcall Basketball 5 Mon Nov 08, 2004 12:39pm
NCAA 4th down fumble rule? Snake~eyes Football 7 Mon Jun 21, 2004 02:20pm
Airborne shooter RookieDude Basketball 18 Sun Dec 28, 2003 12:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1