![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I am not a fan of the fumble rule. It may be a structural necessity, but it also rewards mistakes. That being said, it's generally (but perhaps not perfectly) true that a player who lifts their pivot foot must pass or shoot (or stand on one leg . . . ). Consider 9.5.1 SITUATION: A1 ends a dribble and then jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 partially blocks the shot, but A1 secures control again while still in the air. A1 returns to the floor and dribbles to the basket and scores. RULING: Legal maneuver. Both player control and team control ended when A1 released the ball. When A1 recovered he/she could dribble again similar to dribbling after catching a pass or rebound. Noting that a FUMBLE is (4-21) "accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp", if a player standing on both feet and in control establishes a pivot foot (lifts one foot), then fumbles the ball, may s/he not retrieve the ball, no matter that the pivot foot comes down, no matter how many steps it takes?
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient. |
Bookmarks |
|
|