The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2006, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I just got off the conference call and I brought up a couple of situations that we've discussed recently involving double fouls.

1) Team B scores. While A1 has the ball OOB for the throw-in after the score, A2 and B2 foul each other at the same time. Does Team A retain the privilege of running the endline?

Peter Webb's answer is no. The ensuing throw-in is not the result of a score, but of a double foul. This is not a common foul, therefore the throw-in is from a designated spot.

2) A1 and B1 create a held ball. The alternating possession arrow favors Team A. While A1 has the ball OOB for the AP throw-in, A2 and B2 foul each other at the same time. Will the arrow be switched after the resulting throw-in?

Peter Webb's answer is no. Team A never completed its AP throw-in and the ensuing throw-in is NOT an AP throw-in. Therefore, the arrow is not switched.

The call ran long and I did not bring up the question about the varsity player that dunks during the JV halftime. I think that we hashed that one out pretty well on the forum, tho. No T, right?

Just passing it along.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1