![]() |
|
|||
Re: OH MY GOD!
Quote:
cylinder (space above the rim). By tip in dunks you mean the ball is resting or rolling on the rim when the tipper dunks it? If yes, this is BI (although I'll admit that not every one would to take back a monster dunk because of BI). For old-fashioned, run of the mill dunks, there's an exception in the BI rule that allows the dunker to carry the ball into the cylinder, whether he makes the dunk or not. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
If they are on the rim, or in the cylinder, tip dunks are illegal by definition, but not necessarily by actual practice. Most of the alley-oops are passes that are received outside the cylinder, and they are, therefore, mostly legal. ![]() mick |
|
|||
![]()
Thank you both for clarifying the rule. I appreciate it.
__________________
Duane Galle P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee |
|
|||
Re: Ohhhh
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Re: Ohhhh
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Re: Re: Ohhhh
Quote:
![]()
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
![]()
So if a player takes a shot, the ball is above the level of the ring, on its downward flight is it goaltending or BI?
I would assume that it is goaltending, as the basket per se has not been interfered with. Also, is there any difference in the call? I.e. are the signals the same? Cheers
__________________
Duane Galle P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee |
|
|||
Re: One more question...
Quote:
Rain - Pay attention at those lower levels, I actually had one in an 8th grade boys game last year. Took me by surprise because I never expected it to happen. |
|
|||
Re: One more question...
Quote:
touches the ball before it enters the cylinder (I think this is what Juulie had). It is BI if the player touches the ball in the cylinder. It is BI if the player touches any part of the basket (net included) while the ball is on the rim or going through the basket. It is GT if the ball is touched on its downward path, and has a chance of going in and is a tip or try (BI does not have this last requirement). No signal for BI or GT other than "count it" (2 or 3) or "no basket". You can view the NCAA rules here. Look for 4.4 and 4.31. I am certain the NFHS rules are identical. http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...rules_book.pdf http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/ill_basketball/2001/ |
|
|||
Re: Re: One more question...
Quote:
touching the ball is BI in or out of the cylinder. She did good! |
|
|||
Re: Re: Re: One more question...
Quote:
|
|
||||
Re: Re: Re: Re: One more question...
Quote:
said that Juulie's call should have been GT, not BI. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|