View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2001, 09:12am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: One more question...

Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
So if a player takes a shot, the ball is above the level of the ring, on its downward flight is it goaltending or BI?

I would assume that it is goaltending, as the basket per se has not been interfered with.

Also, is there any difference in the call? I.e. are the signals the same?

Cheers
It is BI if the player reaches through the basket and
touches the ball before it enters the cylinder (I think
this is what Juulie had). It is BI if the player touches
the ball in the cylinder. It is BI if the player touches
any part of the basket (net included) while the ball is on
the rim or going through the basket. It is GT if the ball
is touched on its downward path, and has a chance of going in and is a tip or try (BI does not have this last
requirement). No signal for BI or GT other than "count it"
(2 or 3) or "no basket".

You can view the NCAA rules here. Look for 4.4 and 4.31.
I am certain the NFHS rules are identical.


http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/20...rules_book.pdf

http://www.ncaa.org/library/rules/ill_basketball/2001/
Reply With Quote