View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 14, 2001, 09:37am
Brian Watson Brian Watson is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
Re: Re: Re: One more question...

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
So if a player takes a shot, the ball is above the level of the ring, on its downward flight is it goaltending or BI?

I would assume that it is goaltending, as the basket per se has not been interfered with.

Also, is there any difference in the call? I.e. are the signals the same?

Cheers
If the ball has not touched the rim, it would be goaltending.

Rain - Pay attention at those lower levels, I actually had one in an 8th grade boys game last year. Took me by surprise because I never expected it to happen.
Look at her post again. Hand thru the bottom of the rim
touching the ball is BI in or out of the cylinder.
She did good!
I took his question as a player touches the ball on its downward path while it is above the rim. This would be goaltending, until it hits the rim. I don't think he was talking about reaching through the bottom of the ring.
Reply With Quote