The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 10, 2006, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Wow. Forgive me but that's damn goofy.
Yeah it is kinda anti-intuitive, but once you grasp it, it is easy to referee. Basically a player touching a line is always in the section of the court that they don't want to be. In other words, a player shooting a free throw is considered to violate (and enter the key) by touching the line. Or when a player attempts a 3 pointer, if they touch the line it is only a 2 point attempt.

On inbounds if a defender touches the line while defending the inbound pass, then they have crossed the OOB line and a technical may be issued. But a player out of bounds comits a violation when they touch the line. So in this sitch the one line can be considered to be simulatenously in AND out of bounds [/B]
That's more than damn goofy. That's damn-damn-damn goofy.

Z
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1