
Fri Feb 10, 2006, 12:08am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Wow. Forgive me but that's damn goofy.
|
Yeah it is kinda anti-intuitive, but once you grasp it, it is easy to referee. Basically a player touching a line is always in the section of the court that they don't want to be. In other words, a player shooting a free throw is considered to violate (and enter the key) by touching the line. Or when a player attempts a 3 pointer, if they touch the line it is only a 2 point attempt.
On inbounds if a defender touches the line while defending the inbound pass, then they have crossed the OOB line and a technical may be issued. But a player out of bounds comits a violation when they touch the line. So in this sitch the one line can be considered to be simulatenously in AND out of bounds [/B]
|
That's more than damn goofy. That's damn-damn-damn goofy.
Z
|