The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Is a missed shot recovered by the shooting team the same thing as a change of possession for the purpose of 2-10-6?

...On the basis that 2-6-10 doesn't say 'team control'. I would treat Team A shooting and rebounding the shot as one, continuous possession for the purpose of applying the rule.
As would I. If we didn't consider the possible results...

  • A2 fouled...Error made (merited FTs not awarded)
  • A gets ball for throwin
  • A throws it in
  • A1 shoots...misses...shoots...misses
  • B deflects rebound OOB (never had control)
  • Error discovered
  • If you consider the rebound a possession change, you would give A2 the merited FT and give A the ball back no matter what. Of course, that is not how it is...FTs are shot with players on lane and play from there.

    Only when B earns the ball through a foul, violation, or made basket by A, or by gaining team control do they gain possession.
  • Do you mean that the circumstances you list are in addition to the simple case of Team A shoots and rebounds its own miss?
    __________________
    Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
    Reply With Quote
     

    Bookmarks


    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54pm.



    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1