View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 07, 2006, 12:57pm
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Is a missed shot recovered by the shooting team the same thing as a change of possession for the purpose of 2-10-6?

...On the basis that 2-6-10 doesn't say 'team control'. I would treat Team A shooting and rebounding the shot as one, continuous possession for the purpose of applying the rule.
As would I. If we didn't consider the possible results...

  • A2 fouled...Error made (merited FTs not awarded)
  • A gets ball for throwin
  • A throws it in
  • A1 shoots...misses...shoots...misses
  • B deflects rebound OOB (never had control)
  • Error discovered
  • If you consider the rebound a possession change, you would give A2 the merited FT and give A the ball back no matter what. Of course, that is not how it is...FTs are shot with players on lane and play from there.

    Only when B earns the ball through a foul, violation, or made basket by A, or by gaining team control do they gain possession.
  • Do you mean that the circumstances you list are in addition to the simple case of Team A shoots and rebounds its own miss?
    __________________
    Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
    Reply With Quote