The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Is a missed shot recovered by the shooting team the same thing as a change of possession for the purpose of 2-10-6?

2-10-6 references 'team possession', but that's not a defined term in FED rules as best I can tell. It appears neither in Rule 4 as having a definition of its own, nor in 4-2 (Alternating Possession and Arrow), nor in 6-4 (Alternating Possession).

If one thinks that the rules makers meant 'team possession' in 2-10-6 as synonymous with 'team control' . . . but that seems unlikely, since they carefully eschew the term elswhere.

On the basis that 2-6-10 doesn't say 'team control'. I would treat Team A shooting and rebounding the shot as one, continuous possession for the purpose of applying the rule.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1