The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 11, 2005, 12:09pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
The problem I have with this is:

In 4-34-1, it clearly says that a player is one of the five team members who are legally on the floor at any given time.

By the definition, the kid running on the court wasn't a player, then, since he wasn't legally on the floor.

So the kid would have to be bench personnel or there is a hole in the rules.

If the kid is bench personnel, then the technical has to get addressed via 10-4-2 and there should've been an indirect technical foul on the HC.

Here's what happened: One of my partners was the C tableside and whistled the technical when the fifth player ran on the floor (without his hockey stick). He informed the table and then did inform the coach about the indirect technical -- but neglected to tell the coach about losing the box.

So I'm still not sure if we are right and I don't have time to dig through the casebook now. But it seems the consensus here is that it's just a player technical. Which, to me, would be equitable.

Too much business travel. Only 3 varsity boys games worked thus far this season.

--Rich

Edited to add: I just read case 10.3.3B. Player technical only. Right outcome for the wrong reasons. Oh well, again I learn I don't know everything

[Edited by Rich Fronheiser on Dec 11th, 2005 at 12:12 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1