The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 27, 2005, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Could it not also be interpreted to be the location of the foul since that is the point of the interruption?
In a word, no. The game resumes exactly as it was when it was stopped. Since the ball was "on the perimeter", a sideline throw-in is how we resume. The "point" of interruption is not a place on the court.

The rule is very clear on this point. It's not just my interpretation. 4-36-2a says that play shall be resumed by "a throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred."
Thanks for the quote on the new rule...don't yet have my new books. It is quite clear from what you posted that it is where the ball is located when the foul occurs.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1