![]() |
Funny incident Saturday.
My son plays in a HS varsity fall league. At one point, the referee called a double foul underneath. After reporting the foul, they proceeded to administer the throw-in by giving the ball to the offense on the baseline. The opposing coach, and a few people in the small crowd (also, a small gym), started complaining that he should go to the arrow. The ref stopped before he gave the ball to A1, walked out to the FT extended, and told the assembled crowd about the rule change. He then asked if anyone learned anything "today". Most of us raised our hands. My wife leaned over and said, "I learned two things. I didn't know the previous rule, either." It was a smart, nice gesture by the ref. Unfortunate that rules knowledge can't be dealt with that way more often. Another funny - funny, peculiar - thing: throughout the game, both refs (two-man) had "apprentice" referees shadowing them. The apprentice refs mimic'd the calls, the counts, etc. It was strange to watch. I think I would have been embarrassed to do it. It was useful, though, in that, at every break the refs would explain things to the apprentices. |
Quote:
Other than that question, I agree that I like the way the ref handled it in that situation. Seems like an appropriate time and place, if you're going to try that sort of thing. |
It was underneath. Post players jockeying for position.
Have you ever seen, or been a part of, a teaching situation like they used (i.e., shadowing)? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
I've worked on the floor, while a clinician ran up and down the sidelines, but I've never shadowed someone else that way.
|
Ah, I understand, Chuck. The foul must have been off-ball, because, like the typical fan, I didn't see it!
So, lets say the ball was on the perimeter when the double foul was called. Would the ball be put in play on the sideline? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Could it not also be interpreted to be the location of the foul since that is the point of the interruption? The interruption is the foul. |
Quote:
The rule is very clear on this point. It's not just my interpretation. 4-36-2a says that play shall be resumed by "a throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred." [Edited by ChuckElias on Sep 26th, 2005 at 04:54 PM] |
Long Pass
How does Point of Interruption apply when the ball is in flight during a pass when the "interruption" occurred? Does it go back to where the ball was last controlled by a player?
|
I haven't seen a case play on that sitch, but I would say that "you are where you were until you get where you're going" also applies to the ball. So put the ball back in play at the point closest to where the pass was released.
|
Quote:
Interesting. |
So....now who has the mean streak? ;)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Scenario: A is down 1 with 5 seconds to go. A inbounds the ball deep in the backcourt to A1 who throws a long pass over a press to a breaking A4. Just before the pass arrives, A4 and B4 commit a double foul (not likely to happen but just assume it does for the sake of the discussion). If you go with a spot near the source of the pass, A will lose the time on the clock for the time that the ball was in the air and also the distance down the floor. I don' think this could be the desired outcome. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04am. |