The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2005, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:
Originally posted by mplagrow
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
So if the play happened so fast that the whistle after the incorrect horn happened at about the same time as the ball going OOB, it would not have been right?

I'm not sure I agree with that....

Is this where the arguing begins?
Maybe things are different in Canada, I donno. . . If B threw the ball into play, then the horn went off, then it went OOB, I would ignore the horn. Give the ball to A at the spot the ball was thrown from (NFHS rules) with 1 second on the clock. No way B gets a free second chance.
Oh?

What if the other B players, who may have had a chance at catching the pass, froze at the sound of the horn going off?

What if the same play happened, only there was an inadvertent whistle instead of the horn going off? Would you give the ball back then?

What's the difference? Yes, one is a timing error, one is an official's error. Both have the same effect.

I have no qualms whatsoever about re-starting the play. The rules would seem to back me up.
Oh, you want to play what if? OK, what if B never had a shot at catching the long pass because it was way out of reach, and what if the second pass was successfully completed and B won the game on a desperate shot? I'm not so sure the rules support a replay.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2005, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
Quote:
Originally posted by mplagrow
I'm not so sure the rules support a replay. [/B]
A.R. 33. With four seconds left on the game clock, A1 is throwing-in the ball to A2. The timer incorrectly starts the game clock before the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player. The official recognizes the timer’s mistake and immediately blows his or
her whistle while the passed ball is in flight.

RULING: Since the timer has made a mistake, the official, with definite knowledge, shall place the correct time on the game clock. Play shall be resumed with a throw-in by Team A from the original throw-in spot.


...sounds EXACTLY like what happened in my play.

My scenario and decision is supported by the exact wording of the appropriate rule in the rulebook.
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2005, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:
Originally posted by mplagrow
I'm not so sure the rules support a replay.
A.R. 33. With four seconds left on the game clock, A1 is throwing-in the ball to A2. The timer incorrectly starts the game clock before the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player. The official recognizes the timer’s mistake and immediately blows his or
her whistle while the passed ball is in flight.

RULING: Since the timer has made a mistake, the official, with definite knowledge, shall place the correct time on the game clock. Play shall be resumed with a throw-in by Team A from the original throw-in spot.


...sounds EXACTLY like what happened in my play.

My scenario and decision is supported by the exact wording of the appropriate rule in the rulebook.
[/B]
Is this one of those things that you kind of had to be there? In the original sitch, there was NO whistle, right? In which case, the buzzer should be ignored, right? This is different from the situation you are citing, in which the ball WAS legally put in play.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Palmyra, VA
Posts: 245
Send a message via AIM to drothamel
It would appear to me that the do-over, while supported by rule, is also supported by common sense. If I have definite knowledge of the time on the clock, 1 second in this case, and I know that the clock was started improperly, and I wasn't able to blow the whistle before the instant when the throw-in ended (the ball landing out of bounds), why wouldn't I let them do it over?

If, for example, the clock was started improperly resulting in the horn sounding miliseconds before the throw-in ended, or at least close enough that sounding my whistle would have been impossible, then I think common sense application of the rule dictates a do-over.

What do y'all think?
__________________
-RESPECT THE GAME-
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
If I recall the very long and controversial thread several weeks ago, it was this "common sense" thing that was most at issue.

Some argued that you can only do what the letter of the rules allows you to do - others argued there can/should be allowance for doing "the right thing" or what is in the best "spirit of the game".

In this case, I think my partner and I were able to both follow the rule interpretation, and do the right thing.
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Here's how it happened - maybe I didn't include enough detail....

B1 throws, horn goes off, I whistle, ball goes OOB.

I think we did it right....
Canuck, I think, in this sitch, you got the call right.
When you blew your whistle, you whistled play dead BEFORE violation (OOB).

And you should be commended for being alert to blow your whistle in a timely manner.

However, if you, hypothetically didn't blow whistle until after OOB violation occurred, ball should go back to A with 1 second. As far as B players freezing when they heard horn, this does not seem realistic to me. Do shooters freeze when they hear horn? No, they continue shooting even if after horn and are generally oblivious to horn.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally posted by TravelinMan
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Here's how it happened - maybe I didn't include enough detail....

B1 throws, horn goes off, I whistle, ball goes OOB.

I think we did it right....
Canuck, I think, in this sitch, you got the call right.
When you blew your whistle, you whistled play dead BEFORE violation (OOB).

And you should be commended for being alert to blow your whistle in a timely manner.

However, if you, hypothetically didn't blow whistle until after OOB violation occurred, ball should go back to A with 1 second. As far as B players freezing when they heard horn, this does not seem realistic to me. Do shooters freeze when they hear horn? No, they continue shooting even if after horn and are generally oblivious to horn.
what I meant to say was that shooter still releases shot even if slightly after the horn has sounded.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
TM,

I disagree on both points.

First, when the horn went off by mistake, a couple players - on both teams - froze and/or threw up their hands wondering what was going on. Same thing that happens when you have a shot clock that isn't reset, and it goes off in the middle of one team's possession.

Second, the rule interpretation doesn't say anything about correcting the mistake ONLY if the whistle goes off at a certain point (in this case, before the ball goes OOB). The only thing that matters here is that the officials recognize the error, and that there is definite knowledge of the time remaining.
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2005, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
TM,

I disagree on both points.

First, when the horn went off by mistake, a couple players - on both teams - froze and/or threw up their hands wondering what was going on. Same thing that happens when you have a shot clock that isn't reset, and it goes off in the middle of one team's possession.

Second, the rule interpretation doesn't say anything about correcting the mistake ONLY if the whistle goes off at a certain point (in this case, before the ball goes OOB). The only thing that matters here is that the officials recognize the error, and that there is definite knowledge of the time remaining.
Likewise.

My main point was that in your sitch the play was ruled DEAD when you blew your whistle so the OOB violation (after whsitle) was moot. If you hadn't blown your whistle until after ball had gone OOB, then the play was still LIVE and B violated by letting the ball go OOB. (Violation on B, throw-in for A).

The rule you cite mentions nothing about any violation so this is NOT the same situation as yours.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2005, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:
Originally posted by mplagrow
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
So if the play happened so fast that the whistle after the incorrect horn happened at about the same time as the ball going OOB, it would not have been right?

I'm not sure I agree with that....

Is this where the arguing begins?
Maybe things are different in Canada, I donno. . . If B threw the ball into play, then the horn went off, then it went OOB, I would ignore the horn. Give the ball to A at the spot the ball was thrown from (NFHS rules) with 1 second on the clock. No way B gets a free second chance.
Oh?

What if the other B players, who may have had a chance at catching the pass, froze at the sound of the horn going off?

What if the same play happened, only there was an inadvertent whistle instead of the horn going off? Would you give the ball back then?

What's the difference? Yes, one is a timing error, one is an official's error. Both have the same effect.

I have no qualms whatsoever about re-starting the play. The rules would seem to back me up.
__________________
"Remember always believe the person with the ball"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 07, 2005, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
InBound Play

While I do understand wanting to give the ball back to B. It is not the right thing to do, the ball should go back to original spot and given to A. The rule is not up to interpretation or what we think is right. When the ball OOB automatic the play is dead and play by B was finish. Whistle stops play not clock horn. Shot on last second is indicated by whistle not horn. Your whistle was an indication of the ball being dead and play finish.
__________________
"Remember always believe the person with the ball"
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2005, 03:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by alfreedog
While I do understand wanting to give the ball back to B. It is not the right thing to do, the ball should go back to original spot and given to A. The rule is not up to interpretation or what we think is right.
Al,
Please go take a look at what I wrote on the first page of this thread. It all depends upon whether or not there was a whistle DURING the throw-in. Canuck says there was, so by rule he was right to return the ball to Team B.
Remember his game was played using NCAA rules, not NFHS too.

Where Canuck and I disagree is in the case where he is unable to blow the whistle BEFORE the OOB violation occurs. He asserted that he would still give the ball back to Team B. I don't think that the rules allow that.



Quote:
Originally posted by alfreedog
When the ball OOB automatic the play is dead and play by B was finish. Whistle stops play not clock horn. Shot on last second is indicated by whistle not horn. Your whistle was an indication of the ball being dead and play finish.
What you have written is not exactly correct. While you are right that the ball becomes dead when a violation is committed, not at the time when the whistle is blown to indicate the violation, you have failed to process the fact that Canuck blew his whistle PRIOR to the ball going OOB. Therefore, in this specific play, the ball became dead at the time the whistle was blown. The OOB violation never happens. Since the whistle was during the throw-in, NCAA rules give the ball back to Team B.

Also, a whistle at the end of a quarter or half is not required to stop play, unless a try for goal is in flight prior to the sounding of the horn.

If one is needed, the whistle should be blown once the try has ended. Of course, the ball is still dead immediately when the try ends.
Otherwise, the game clock horn, not a whistle, does make the ball dead and signal the end of a quarter or half.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1