View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2005, 11:19pm
mplagrow mplagrow is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Quote:
Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:
Originally posted by mplagrow
I'm not so sure the rules support a replay.
A.R. 33. With four seconds left on the game clock, A1 is throwing-in the ball to A2. The timer incorrectly starts the game clock before the passed ball touches or is legally touched by an inbounds player. The official recognizes the timer’s mistake and immediately blows his or
her whistle while the passed ball is in flight.

RULING: Since the timer has made a mistake, the official, with definite knowledge, shall place the correct time on the game clock. Play shall be resumed with a throw-in by Team A from the original throw-in spot.


...sounds EXACTLY like what happened in my play.

My scenario and decision is supported by the exact wording of the appropriate rule in the rulebook.
[/B]
Is this one of those things that you kind of had to be there? In the original sitch, there was NO whistle, right? In which case, the buzzer should be ignored, right? This is different from the situation you are citing, in which the ball WAS legally put in play.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote