Good rule citation, but that seems to be a different play.
In the NCAA AR, the official notices the clock starting incorrectly and immediately stops the play by sounding the whistle DURING the throw-in. Under NCAA rules, there is team control during a throw-in and the offense was not given the opportunity to finish the play, so that team is clearly entitled to keeping the possession with another throw-in opportunity. The NCAA only had to make a ruling on from where to conduct the throw-in. (Original location or the spot nearest to where the ball was when the official sounded the whistle.) They have chosen the original location.
Now in your play, you never said anything about an official blowing the whistle during the throw-in. You said that the ball went over everyone's hands and OOB. Therefore, that throw-in was completed, not interrupted as in the NCAA AR. Thus, I think your play doesn't fit within this AR.
|