View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2005, 12:01am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
If an official doesn't sound a whistle DURING the throw-in, I don't know of any rule that would allow the throw-in to be done a second time.

In other words, if a player touches the throw-in pass or the ball goes OOB before a whistle is blown that play must stand. You can certainly still correct the clock.

If it is close, you have to make the decision on which event happened first. While that can be a tough call, I don't think that is the crux of the big timing argument.

I believe that one is what to do if B2 catches the throw-in pass, without play being stopped by a whistle, but then doesn't have enough time to score because of a premature clock start.

Reply With Quote