The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
What I want to know:

Does 4-43-2-a(2) describe a "step" only, or does it describe an action that may be a "step or a "jump"?
It depends on what you mean by "step" and "jump."

This rule only means what it says -- one foot followed by the other. At the time the "other" foot lands, the "first" foot might still be on the ground (I'm guessing this is your "step") or might now be in the air (I'm guessing this is your "jump").

Either way, the "first" foot is still the pivot foot, and all the pivot foot restrictions apply.
Thanks for answering my questions, Bob.

You made it very clear that you have no doubt at all a "jump" is allowed by this rule, even for an exaggerated, far and high, or "delayed", jump. I really appreciate you for that.

Now I am only curious. Have you seen any case books or clarifications/interpretations that specifically addressed this "issue"? Or do you deem the rule itself spells it loud and clear?

Thanks.


Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1