Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Imagine the following 3 scenarios:
A. A player catches a pass when he is in the air, lands on his left foot only, pauses, looks around, takes a drink, then put his right foot down.
B. A player catches a pass when he is in the air, lands on his left foot only, pauses, looks around, takes a drink, then "jumps" and lands on his right foot only.
C. A player catches a pass when he is in the air, lands on his left foot only, pauses, looks around, takes a drink, then "jumps" and lands on both feet.
|
None of these plays is a travel. All are covered perfectly by the rules.
|
I think B is a travel.
The only rule that allows a player to catch-land-jump-land requires that the final landing be on both feet simultaneously. All other parts specify a single landing. A layup is a single landing....catch-land-step-shoot...and both feet may be briefly off the floor.
|
Really?!? I think this is just like a drive for a lay-up but slowed way down. If the player catches in mid-air, then touches with the left, then is in mid-air for a period of time then touches with the right, how is that a travel, regardless of how long each single item takes?
|
Yes. Really.
Step vs. Jump. They're not the same. In the layup, the action between the two points of contact is generally a lateral move.
The whole intent of the this portion of the travel rule is to provide a way for a player to come to a stop....not stop...jump...stop.
No one has commented on the case I posed earlier:
A1 catches ball on one foot. A1 jumps off of that foot to shoot. B1 is in position to block the shot. A1 decides not to shoot and hangs onto the ball then lands on the other foot. Traveling? I think so.
[Edited by Camron Rust on May 20th, 2005 at 06:38 PM]