About a week ago I briefly saw this play on Sport Center's Top Ten Plays. Keelon Dooling's (sp) 15 foot jumper from the end line passed over the corner of the backboard and was successful. I don't even know what NBA team he plays for. I think they counted the goal. Did this happen the way I described? Did they count the goal? I have trouble with the applicable rule....7-1-2 note says the ball is out of bounds if the ball passes over the backboard. The casebook 7.1.2 says it is a violation if the ball passes "directly" over the backboard. As you see the word directly is added in the case book. Am I reading too much into the word directly? Could the rule's committee want over the corner from more than 3 feet out to be legal and a violation only if it goes straight over. Yes, I have seen the Larry Bird shot that was ruled illegal for passing over the corner, but that doesn't mean that the call was correct. Any comments, please. I'm especiaaly interested in the interpretation of what the word "directly" is inferring.
|