View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 02:45pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
I just looked it up, the NBA rule says:
I think somebody posted the NBA rule about an hour and a half ago. . . See above!

Quote:
Originally posted by zanzibar The NBA and NF are likely to have the same interp on this sitch. I still don't know exactly what "from any point"means.
I don't know what would make you think that it's "likely" for the NBA and FED to have identical interpretations. FED interpretation is that it's OOB if the ball passes over any part of the backboard. NBA interprets "directly" to mean pretty much "the middle of". You won't see this called in an NBA game unless the ball pass over the very center of the backboard. Like when a shot hits the rim and bounces up and over the backboard. Or when an inbounder throws the ball over the backboard to a teammate standing in the lane.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote