View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 03:09pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I have heard it explained to mean that if the ENTIRE BALL passed over the backboard, then it was considered "directly" over the backboard. Therefore, if the shot was at such an angle that the ball was shot over the corner of the backboard but the part of the sphere did not cross over the backboard, then the shot woul be legal.

An example from another sport: baseball. A pitch catches the corner of the plate. STRIKE! But the entire ball did not pass over the plate, only part of the sphere did. That's similiar to a ball passing over the backboard but the entire ball not passing directly over.

Tha's my understanding of the rule and how it was explained to me.
Reply With Quote