View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 02:30pm
zanzibar zanzibar is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by zanzibar
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by zanzibar
I still don't know what they mean by the word "directly" and since this play was allowed....I wonder if it's ok to be more than three feet away and the try pass over the corner of the backboard.
Is the wording "directly behind" the backboard, or "directly over" the backboard?

If the workding is "directly behind" the backboard, dose it mean the ball only needs to enter the "horizontal shadow" behind the backboard to be OOB, regardless it is from front to back, or from right to left, or from up to down, or vice versa?

Thanks.


The wording is "directly over"
I just looked it up, the NBA rule says:

Section II-Ball
a. The ball is out-of-bounds when it touches a player who is out-of-bounds or any other person, the floor, or any object on, above or outside of a boundary or the supports or back of the backboard.
b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds.

Thanks.
Sorry for a vague post...I only want to know what the NF rule is. It is interesting that the NBA has the phrase "from any point". The NBA and NF are likely to have the same interp on this sitch. I still don't know exactly what "from any point"means.
Reply With Quote