The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2005, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I have heard it explained to mean that if the ENTIRE BALL passed over the backboard, then it was considered "directly" over the backboard. Therefore, if the shot was at such an angle that the ball was shot over the corner of the backboard but the part of the sphere did not cross over the backboard, then the shot woul be legal.

An example from another sport: baseball. A pitch catches the corner of the plate. STRIKE! But the entire ball did not pass over the plate, only part of the sphere did. That's similiar to a ball passing over the backboard but the entire ball not passing directly over.

Tha's my understanding of the rule and how it was explained to me.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1