The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by bballrob
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by bballrob
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Hand is considered part of the ball, and B hit the ball last.
I figured this was the answer he was looking for, but i don't buy it in this situation.
Why not? If B does not hit A's hand does the ball go OOB?

It is either a foul on B, because the contact did disadvantage A, or you expand 10-6-1 to cover this situation and penalize the player that DID cause the ball to go OOB.
10-6-1 only applies to fouls. No expansion allowed. The rule is not give the ball to the team that didn't CAUSE it to go OOB, the rule is, give it to the team that wasn't the last to touch it. A's ball.
10-6 applies to CONTACT, so I'm not really expanding anything. If hitting the hand that is on the ball is not a foul, logically it's the same as contacting the ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1