Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
I agree on it not being a foul, I disagree that A touched it last. If hitting the hand that is on the ball is not a foul,10-6-1, then logically striking the hand and knocking the ball out has to be considered hitting the ball.
|
BZ, this doesn't follow at all. Not being a foul is not equivalent to touching the ball.
|
BZ,
Your logic is neither mine nor in the rule book.
10-6-1 just says that if B1 contacts A1's hand while it is in contact with the ball it is NOT a foul but only if it was incidental to an attempt to play the ball.
10-6-1: He/she shall not contact an opponent with his/her hand unless such contact is only with the opponent's hand while it is on the ball AND is incidental to an attempt to play the ball.
It does not say hand is part of the ball.
It does not say that if B1 contacts A1's hand while it is in contact with the ball, that B1 is considered to have contacted the ball.
It does not say that you can NEVER have a foul if the contact is only on the opponent's hand while in contact with the ball. The contact is ignored ONLY if INCIDENTAAL.
Incidental only means the official deemed the contact to be of so little importance that it had no effect or did not hinder an opponent from performing normal actions.
If you judge that B1 contact put A1 at a disadvantage because the contact prohibited A1 from properly gaining possession of the ball then call the foul. You have rule support to do so.
If you judge B1's contact to be incidental and ball goes OB the give the ball to B because B DID NOT touch the ball, A did. You have rule support to do so.
If you try to say that even though B did not touch the ball pe se but because he touched A's hand while it was on the ball then B is deemed to have touched the ball then this is faulty logic. You do not have rule support for this.
[Edited by Daryl H. Long on Mar 24th, 2005 at 11:51 PM]
|
Actually you don't have rule support for the foul unless you deem the contact on A's hand as intentional, Daryl you just quoted the rule that says it's NOT a foul.
B's contact on A's hand was incidental to playing the ball, I think 10-6-1 supports no foul AND giving the ball to A.